Home » More Sports » Jharkhand boys win Tea Board chess

Jharkhand boys win Tea Board chess

Kolkata, May 30 (UNI) Defending champion Deep Sengupta of Jharkhnad annexed the title in the premiere section of the Tea Board of India Chess for Youth here today.

Deep Sengutpa, a trainee of Dibyendu Barua Chess Academy, got the better of Mary Ann Gomes in the final round and totaled 7 points to emerge champion. For his efforts Deep Sengupta got a glittering trophy and cash prize of Rs 15,000.

Top seed, GM Abhijhit Gupta of Rajasthan outwitted GM S Arun Prasad of Tamil Nadu to take the second place on 6.5 points.

WGM Eesha Karwade of Pune also scored 6.5 points but had to be content with the third position with a lesser progressive score than Abhijit Gupta.

Dhee Sankar won the under-16 boys title while Diotima Dutta Gupta was the champion in the girls' section.

Samrat Ghorai was the top scorer in the under 14 boys champion and Arna Sarkar was the best girl in the girls' section in the same category.

Aditya Chakraborty was the champion in the under-12 boys category while Bidita Shenoy was the champion in the girls' section.

Kaustav Kundu won the boys' title in the under-10 section while Shoumi Mukherjee topped the girls' section.

Mitrabha Guha was the only player in all the categories to score 8 points and won the under-8 section while Khushi Dharewa won the girls' title in the same category.

Maj Gen A N Verma GOC Bengal Area was the chief guest at the prize distribution ceremony.

The eight-round one hour Swiss tournament was organized by Dibyendu Barua Chess Academy and All Sport Management.


Story first published: Friday, May 30, 2008, 21:34 [IST]
Other articles published on May 30, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...