Home » More Sports » J&K draws with UP, qualifies for Plate group

J&K draws with UP, qualifies for Plate group

Jammu, Dec 17 (UNI) Host Jammu and Kashmir drew with Uttar Pradesh and qualified for the Plate group by having 19 points to their kitty on the fourth and final day of the Cooch Behar Under-19 Cricket Tournament played here today.

The visitors who scored 237 runs declared their innings and put J&K in to bat. However, the confident host team was in fine touhch and without losing any wicket they scored 60 runs in a 10.2 over spell when the stumps were drawn on the final day.

Adil Rishi scored a quick 52 runs off just 37 deliveries with six boundaries and two sixes while Imran Haroon remained not out on eight.

Earlier, resuming on their overnight score, Uttar Pradesh declared their innings at 237 in 111.4 overs for the loss of nine wickets as young batsmen Ankit Tewari (52) and Umang Sharma notched up their half centuries and the duo piled up 106 runs for the fifth wicket, Rizwan Ahmed remained another lead scorer for UP with 22 runs as the lower order was shattered by the J&K skipper, right arm medium pacer Ram Dayal Punia.

By playing a draw against UP, Jammu and Kashmir have secured three points and stand second in their pool. Jammu and Kashmir will now play semifinal match against Rajasthan in Plate group at Kanpur on December 24.

Scoreboard: UP 1st innings: 286 J K 1st innings: 294 UP 2nd innings: Akash Verma c Mohd Mudassir b Manik Gupta 36, Zahid Ali lbw b Parvez Rasool 30, Ankit Pal run out 6, Ankit Tewari st Mehraj-ud-Din b Manik Gupta 52, Umang Sharma c Mehraj-ud-Din b Ram Dayal 62, Akash Kumar c Mehraj-ud-Din b Ram Dayal 00, Mohd. Ahraz lbw Mohd. Mudassir 05, Mohd. Khalid c Mehraj-ud-Din b Manik Gupta 22, Sunil Tripathi not out 03, Saurabh Kashyap not out 00.

Extras: (b 10, lb 1, nb 4, w 1) 16 Total: declared on 237 for 9 in 111.4 overs Fall of wickets: 1/59, 2/78, 3/87, 4/193, 5/195, 6/195, 7/209, 8/209, 9/236.

J K (bowling): Mohd Mudassir 14-7-51-1, Ram Dayal 24-8-52-3, Manik Gupta 32-12-65-3, Parvez Rasool 29.4-11-48-1, Sameer Ahmed 4-2-6-0, Nitish Sharma 3-2-4-0.

J&K IInd inning: Adil Rishi not out 52, Imran Haroon not out 8.

Extras: 00 Total: 60 for no loss in 10.2 overs.

Fall of Wickets: 00 UP bowling: Ankit Tewari 5.2-0-39-0, Mohd. Ahraz 2-1-3-0, Umang Sharma 1-1-0-0, Zahid Ali 1-0-15-0, Akash Verma 1-0-3-0.


Story first published: Monday, December 17, 2007, 21:08 [IST]
Other articles published on Dec 17, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...