Home » More Sports » Jothikumaran re-elected TNHA Secretary

Jothikumaran re-elected TNHA Secretary

Chennai, Nov 23 (UNI) After lying low for the last few months in the wake of a sting operation, former IHF Secretary K Jothikumaran was today re-elected as secretary of the Tamil Nadu Hockey Association (TNHA) for a three year term.

Jothikumaran was elected unanimously at the Annual General Body Meeting of the TNHA held at a city hotel.

Former Olympian V Baskaran was elevated as President of TNHA, while N R Radhakrishnan, Felix Thomas, T A Jabarathinam, A Kannan and Saleem Khan were elected as Vice-Presidents.

M S Udaykumar and M Sampath were elected as Assistant Secretary and Treasurer.

TNHA President and former Olympian P Krishnamurthy was made Patron of the Association along with IPS Officer Panchapakesan.

Talking to UNI, Jothikumaran said all the office bearers were elected unanimously for a three-year term.

He said 61 delegates from 21 of the 29 districts, affiliated to the TNHA, participated in the AGM, which was attended by Mr Charles Manohar as Government Observer from the Sports Development Authority of Tamil Nadu.

Jothikumaran said the meeting also unanimously decided to suspend some of the members who had acted against the interests of the TNHA by claiming themselves as the real association.

It may be recalled that Jothikumaran had resigned as IHF Secretary in April this year after a private television channel televised a sting operation which showed him receiving Rs two lakh cash for getting a player included in the senior team.

Since then he had been keeping a low profile and some of the disgruntled members of TNHA demanded his sacking from the State Body also.

But Jothikumaran weathered all storms and was re-elected as TNHA Secretary in today's meeting.


Story first published: Sunday, November 23, 2008, 16:40 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 23, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...