Home » More Sports » Juniors Adnya Naik and Prachi Nadkarni prevail

Juniors Adnya Naik and Prachi Nadkarni prevail

Pune, Nov 11 (UNI) Junior player Adnya Naik put out seasoned Archana Venkatraman 6-4, 4-6, 6-3 and another Junior Prachi Nadkarni eliminated Geeta Manohar 7-6 (7-2), 6-4 to enter the qualifying round of the 25,000 dollars NECC ITF women's tennis championships at the Deccan Gymkhana tennis courts here.

In the main draw that was announced here today, fourth-seeded Tara Iyer and eight-seeded Isha Lakhani have been drawn to meet each other in the quarter-finals. Top seeded Su-Wei Hsieh of Taipei will take on last year's winner eighth seeded Nungnadda Wannachuk (Thailand), second seeded Sandy Gumulya of Indonesia will clash with sixth seeded Silvia Disderi (Italy) and third seeded Neha Uberoi (USA) will take on fifth seeded Nina Bratchikova of (Russia) in the other quarter-final pairing.

The tournament also received a boost in the doubles event with the inclusion of Wynne Prakusya, formerly ranked tenth in doubles and Angelique Widjaja, top 50 player, who were awarded wildcards for the event by the organizers, according to tournament director Anand Tulpule .

The tournament will be inaugurated at the hands of Sandeep Kirtane former Davis Cup player. A painting by local artist Priya Bendrey, specially made for the tournament, will be unveiled by the players tomorrow and it will be presented to the winner of the event.

Following are the seedings Singles : 1. Su-Wei Hsieh (Taipei), 2.

Sandy Gumulya (Indonesia), 3. Neha Uberoi (USA), 4. Tara Iyer (India), 5. Nina Bratchikova (Russia), 6. Silvia Disderi (Italy), 7.

Nungnadda Wannachuk (Thailand), 8. Isha Lakhani (India) Doubles :1 Silvia Disderi / Neha Uberoi, 2. Nina Bratchikova/ Sandy Gumulya 3. Rushmi Chakravarthy/ Isha Lakhani 4. Ankita Bhambri / Sanaa Bhambri.

Following are the results ( 2nd Round Qualifying) Kelsey Sundaram (USA) bt Nicola Mooney (GBR) 6-2, 6-4, Julia Parasyuk ( Russia) bt P V Raja Rajeshwari ( Ind) 6-1, 6-0, Kyung Yee Chae (korea) bt Arushi Sharma 6-1, 6-0, Varatchaya Wongteanchai( Thailand) bt Sagarika Phadke 6-2, 6-2 , Shalini Sahoo ( India) bt Daria Bykodarova ( Russia) 6-3, 6-1, Alexandra Kolesnichenko ( Uzbekistan) bt Subbadharmi Sundaram (USA) 6-1, 6-2. Sonal Phadke bt Nupur Kaul 6-3, 6-1, Arthi Venkatraman bt Bhavani Ravishankar 6-0, 6-1, Ashmitha Easwarmurthi bt Deepna Vazirani 6-4, 6-2, Adnya Naik bt Archana Venkatraman 6-4, 4-6 , 6-3.

GK Shweta bt Shahin Ansari 6-3, 6-4, Prachi Nadkarni bt Geeta Manohar 7-6(7-2) , 6-4 , Pooja Shree Venkatesha bt Pallavi Sharma 6-1, 6-0.


Story first published: Sunday, November 11, 2007, 21:02 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 11, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...