Home » More Sports » Karnataka Govt to honour Olympic medal winners

Karnataka Govt to honour Olympic medal winners

Mysore, Sep 18 (UNI) Olympic medal winners Abhinav Bindra (Shooting), Sushil Kumar (Wrestling) and Vijender Singh (Boxing) will be honoured by the Karnataka Government on October 4 to mark the beginning of the Annual Dasara Sports Meet here.

State Sports and Youth Services Commissioner Amar Kumar Pandey told mediapersons that the trio would be felicitated with cash prize of Rs 10 lakh to Abhinav and Rs five lakh each to Sushil and Vijender for their achievement in the recently concluded Olympics in Beijing.

When asked whether Abhinav has confirmed his participation, Pandey said, ''we have extended invitation and still there is time for his confirmation.'' Abhinav's family members have expressed concern over security for his participation in the function.

Pandey further said more than 3,000 sportspersons are expected to participate in the three-day meet being held in 18 disciplines.

Half Marathon, in which more than 1,000 athletes are expected to participate, will be held on October five. The cycling race would be held this year for both men and women.


Story first published: Thursday, September 18, 2008, 22:04 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 18, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...