Kenya''s Mugu Antony Ndungu wins Chennai marathon

Posted By: Pti

Chennai, Feb 13 (PTI) Kenya-born Mugu Antony Ndungu wonthe 9th edition of the Chennai Marathon here today, coveringthe 42.2km full marathon in two hours 15 minutes.

Hyderabad-based Ramsing came second and KiplangatmiTeivice from Kenya finished third, a release said.

In the half-marathon event, Karnataka born Berappa Dikbagged the first spot covering 21.1 km in one hour sixminutes, while Bahadur Singh Dhoni from Hyderabad stood secondand another Kenyan Alex Kirwa came third.

In the half-marathon for Women''s, Kerala''s V S Suganyacompleted the lap in one hour 26 minutes. Kenya born MargarateKiplagat claimed the second position and Chiai Uraguch ofJapan ended third.

In the 10km mini-marathon, Kavinadu Youth Sports Schoolstudent from Pudukottai in Tamil Nadu, G Lakshmanan, won thetop honours while Rajansingh and Brijlal (both IndianRailways, Uttar Pradesh) came second and third, respectively.

In the women''s category, Pudukottai''s L Surya and PRani emerged first and second respectively while SVijayalakshmi (Chennai) finished third.

In the five kms mini marathon for men, K YogendranKumar and M Ravindra Khade (both Western Railways, Mumbai)came first and third respectively, while Tamil Nadu SpecialPolice personnel J Jayaraj stood second.

In the women''s category, V Jayamala of Western Railway,Mumbai won, A Ashviya (Tiruvarur, Tamil Nadu) came secondand M Arockia Elizabeth Rose (Thiruvannamalai, TN) settled forthe third position.

In the five kms boys category, J Shankar (Tiruvallur,TN)came first, A Alex and C Subbamaran (both Chennai) finishedsecond and third respectively.

Coimbatore''s P Dhanapriya stood first in the five kmsgirls category. C Susila (Pudukottai) came second and JKerchiyal (Thiruvannamalai) third, it said.

In the 10kms mini marathon conducted for UniformedServices, Meghalaya''s Sunil Fatan, Sanavas and Sunish PNcame first, second and third respectively.

More than 6,000 people participated in the variousevents, flagged off by Tamil Nadu Sports Minister TP MMohidheen Khan. He later presented the trophies to thewinners.

Story first published: Sunday, February 13, 2011, 15:00 [IST]
Other articles published on Feb 13, 2011
Please Wait while comments are loading...