Home » More Sports » Krushy taken the distance in Mah State Open squash championships

Krushy taken the distance in Mah State Open squash championships

Mumbai, Sep 16 (UNI) Unseeded Krushy Agarwal enjoyed a rewarding day as she advanced to the girls' under-17 and under-15 second rounds in contrasting fashion, as the main draw got underway in the 33rd Bombay Gymkhana-HSBC Maharashtra State Open Squash Championships, at the Bombay Gymkhana here today.

Krushy kicked off the day and warmed up for a sterner test ahead when she raced to a 11-0, 11-1, 11-3 win over a hapless Smriti Deora in the girls under-17 first round.

Krushy would have wished a similar passage in the under-15 first round but she was forced to endure a strong challenge from Kritika in a five-set thriller.

Krushy dropped the opening two games in dramatic fashion as she trailed 2-11, 11-13, with an exciting second game stretching into extra points.

She recovered to win the next two games, which were close, to force the decider, but not before enduring another tight game in the fourth that also went into extra points.

Kritika did not give up and ran Krushy close in the decider that could have gone either way. But a winner and an unforced error saw Krushy through to a 2-11, 11-3, 11-7, 12-10, 11-9 win.

One of Mumbai's top junior Yohan Pandole also was stretched before pulling off an exciting 11-8, 6-11, 11-4, 11-5 win to end qualifier Karan Rathore's campaign in the boys under-13 first round.

In the same round, another top city junior Raghav Mehrotra, a product of the World Squash Academy, ended the winning streak of qualifier Suyash Sharma of Jaipur 11-8, 11-8, 11-7.

RESULTS (1st Rd): Boys U-19: Karan Kumar bt Waqar Pathan 11-4, 11-6, 11-5; Laxman Joshi bt P. Lalchandani 11-1, 11-0, 11-3.

Boys U-13: Raghav Mehrotra bt Suyash Sharma (Jaipur) 11-8, 11-8, 11-7; Yohan Pandole bt Karan Rathore 11-8, 6-11, 11-4, 11-5; Karan Kochhar bt Vedant Rao 11-3, 11-8, 11-5; Viraj Kumar bt Aditya Khatri 11-3, 11-6, 11-9; Kunj Rawani bt Aditya Singhi 11-8, 11-3, 11-8.

Boys U-11: Vedant Rao bt A. Panjabi 11-4, 12-10, 11-8; K. Prasad bt Z. Motivala 11-2, 11-3, 11-1; A. Hemdev bt P. Maru 11-4, 11-2, 13-11; C. Shah bt S. Iyer 11-7, 11-6, 11-6; Dev Vazirani bt A.

Jayant 11-5, 11-8, 11-3.

Girls U-17: Krutika bt Anisha Malhotra 11-5, 10-12, 11-8, 11-5; Krushi Agarwal bt Smriti Deora 11-0, 11-1, 11-3; Avantika Rajani bt Larisha Gupt 11-2, 11-5, 11-2.

Girls U-15: Shriya Khatri bt Aishwarya Nambiar 11-1, 11-2, 11-1; Krushi Agarwal bt Krutika 2-11, 11-13, 11-7, 12-10, 11-9; Narisha Gupta bt Sushmita Mukherjea 11-4, 11-4, 11-8.

Professionals: Sanjay Pawar bt Sanjay Salvi 11-0, 11-4, 11-6; Rohit More bt M. Chavan 11-6, 11-1, 11-7; Sayed Rehman bt A.T. More 11-9, 11-6, 11-4; Temo Gomez bt Baban More 10-12, 11-5, 11-3, 11-0; Vijay Jangra bt Devdas Tambe 11-7, 11-6, 11-2.


Story first published: Tuesday, September 16, 2008, 20:35 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 16, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...