Home » More Sports » Kumbhar, Dimple bag honours in Federation Cup Cross Country

Kumbhar, Dimple bag honours in Federation Cup Cross Country

Nagpur, Feb 3 (UNI) Ashok Kumbhar and Dimple Naidu, both of Maharashtra, won in the men's and women's sections respectively in the 4-km run on the second and last day of the 13th Federation Cup National Cross Country championship here today.

Kumbhar clocked 12:16 to emerge the winner, while Dimple did likewise with a timing of 15:29 in the event hosted by Nagpur District Athletic Association under the aegis of Maharashtra Amateur Athletic Association (MAAA).

In other events, Shakti Singh (Goa) won the boys under-16, 3-Km run, while Jyoti Jadhav (Maharashtra) did likewise in the girls section with a timing of 12:01.

Maharashtra were the overall champions, winning eight of the ten events, and also won the team championships in the men's and women's sections. Army were the runners up in the team championship for men, and Gujarat in women.

The results: Men 4-km: 1 Ashok Kumbhar (Maharashtra) 12:16, 2 Naresh Kumar (Maharashtra) 12:17, 3 Ranjan K K (Army) 12:18, 4 Laxman Singh (Army) 12:19, 5 Shivprasad (Goa) 12:20, 6 Shahnawaz (Army) 12:22.

Women 4-km: 1 Dimple Naidu (Maharashtra) 15:29, 2 Anupama Patil (Maharashtra) 15:38, 3 Semma Nahid (Maharashtra) 15:40, 4 Jyoti Gawate (Maharashtra) 16:02, 5 Sunita (Delhi) 16:16, 6 K J Sandhya (CRPF) 16:29.

Boys U-16 3-km: 1 Shakti Singh (Goa) 10:01 2 Ranjit Patel (UP) 10:02, 3 Paramjit Singh (Goa) 10:04, Sujit Kumar (UP) 10:08, 5 Naresh Kumar (Goa) 10:15, Rajinder (Delhi) 1018.

Girls U-16 3-km: 1 Jyoti Jadhav (Maharashtra) 12:01, 2 Sneha Farsole (Maharashtra) 12:03, 3 Janabai Hirve (Maharashtra) 12:09, 4 Meenal Taktode (Maharashtra) 12:10, 5 Jyoti Kumar (Delhi) 12:11, 6 Renuka Chope (Goa) 12:40.


Story first published: Sunday, February 3, 2008, 22:37 [IST]
Other articles published on Feb 3, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...