Maharashtra, Haryana, J

Jalandhar, Dec 13 (UNI) After defeating Shashtra Seema Bal (SSB) by 7-3, Maharashtra secured a place in the quarter-finals of the 56th All India Police Hockey championship held at Olympian Surjit Hockey Stadium here today.

Anmol Bhosle opened the account for Maharashtra by converting a penalty corner in the 4th minute. He again sounded the board with a field goal in the 44th minute. Akhilesh Yesur converted two penalty corners in the 40th and 51st minutes, while Amit Yesur fired two field goals in the 49th and 66th minutes. Also Captain Azmat Sheikh posted field goal in the 60th minute.

S Romikumar Singh converted scored the first goal for SSB by converting penalty corner in the 12th minute, again Syed Yasir Shammi converted the penalty corner in the 58th minute, while E Biswajit Singh sounded the board with the only field goal in the 38th minute.

In another tough match that was held between Haryana and Uttar Pradesh. Haryana trounced UP by a narrow margin of 9-8. Both the teams played well and till the half time, both were at nil. In the second half, Sunil Kumar scored for Haryana by converting a penalty corner in the 54the minute, which was equalled by UP in 67th minute with a field goal by Sajieo Khan.

Even, penalty strokes failed to breake the tie between the two teams, but during Sudden Death, Haryana managed to score a goal, whereas UP failed to do so.

In the last match of the day, Jammu and Kashmir outplayed Jharkhand by 3-2. Gurjeet Singh fired the first goal for J&K by converting penalty corner in the 10th minute, while Sartaj Singh and Devinder Singh posted one goal each in the 29th and 60the minutes.

Nelson Topno scored both the goals for Jharkhand, he sounded the board with a field goal in 63rd minute and converted a penalty corner in the 67th minute.


Story first published: Thursday, December 13, 2007, 21:12 [IST]
Other articles published on Dec 13, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...