Manipur makes it 11 times in-a-row

Haldiya, Mar 16 (UNI) Manipur won the Senior National's Women Championship for the 11th consecutive time defeating Orissa 4-1 in the final here today.

Playing under floodlights in the Durgachawk stadium, Manipur took their 14th title in the 16 editions of the game.

Manipur and Orissa reached the final defeating Goa and Bengal by identical margins of 1-0.

Manipur opened the scoring in the 17th minute through NG Bala Devi and doubled the lead in the 34th through O Bemdem Devi. Orissa pulled one back in the very next minute through Pinky Bomal.

The match looked poised for an exciting end as in for lemon break Manipur was leading 2-1. But Manipur took the game away in the second half.

N Bemdem Devi made it 3-1 in the 61st minute, before NG Bala Devi put the last nail on the coffin in the 76th minute to etch out a facile win.


Story first published: Sunday, March 16, 2008, 21:32 [IST]
Other articles published on Mar 16, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...