Home » More Sports » Mishra, Sayali Dravid to lead Maharashtra in CYG

Mishra, Sayali Dravid to lead Maharashtra in CYG

Pune, May 14 (UNI) South Asian Federation (SAF) games triple jump gold medalist Dhiraj Mishra and ace sprinter Sayali Dravid of Pune, will lead a 53-member Maharashtra squad in the three-day final trials, to earn their spot in the Indian team before taking part in the 2008 Commonwealth Youth Games (CYG) that gets underway at the Shiv Chhatrapati Sports City Mhalunge-Balewadi near here, from October 12 to 18.

Announcing the 53-member team here today, Maharashtra Amateur Athletic Association (MAAA) Secretary General Prahlad Sawant pointed out that the state association came to their rescue in hosting the three-day meet at the last minute.

The hosts state athletes, however, will enjoy the distinct advantage of competing on the home ground in their bid to earn their places, Sawant observed.

The hosts have pinned their faith in junior international sprinter Shriya Vidwans (200 and 400 meters), having gained the exposure in the world junior athletic meet in the Czech Republic in Ostrava.

Sawant said noted coaches Gajanand Patil of Pune, Ajit Kulkarni of Thane and former long distance international Bhagyashri Bile of Pune will be the coaches, while Mr Shekar Dravid and Snehal Khaire will be the managers.

Following are the teams : Boys Under 18: Dhiraj Mishra (Capt), Anniruddha Gujar, Kuldip Bhonge, Dattatraya Zodge, Vijay Ghavane, Sunny Patil, Paramjit Singh, Sunil Kumar, Chandrakant Manvatkar, C K Ranjit, Chetan Patil, Sidhanth Thingaliya, Ramashankar Bharati, Harshawardhan Nirmale, Tejas Salian, Pushkar Mehumnkar, Jinith Thomas, Rupender Singh, Rohit Singh, Jagannath Chavan, Vaibhav Kadam, Amol Patil, Vijay Yadav, Sachin Budgaonkar, Akash Newangune, Sunil Harale, Shirkbahadur Thapa.

Girls Under 18: Sayali Dravid (Capt), Swati Gadhave, Bhagyashri Shirke, Shriya Vidwans, Amruta Vatkar, Monica Athre, Monica Raut, Deepika Varke, Chhaya Chaure, Anita Yadav, Roopali Gotkule, Shraddha Ghule, Pooja Patil, Soumaya Patki, Pooja Rokade, Goldie Sahi, Vaishnavi Zare, Pranita Natraj, Dhanashri Gadhi, Reena Kushwasha, Harshada Satpute.


Story first published: Wednesday, May 14, 2008, 20:06 [IST]
Other articles published on May 14, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...