National police athletic meet ends; BSF best team

Guwahati, Nov 17 (UNI) The 56th All India Police Athletic Championship came to a colourful end at the Indira Gandhi indoor stadium here today, with the BSF emerging as the overall champion.

The championship, which had gone underway on November 13, saw 27 teams competing in 42 events for 87 medals.

Assam Governor Lt Gen (Retd) Ajai Singh, declaring the championship closed, exhorted the police personnel to excel in the sporting arena as well.

He exuded confidence that security men will dominate the national sporting scenario very soon.

The medals tally was led by CRPF team with 12 medals each in gold, silver and bronze. The second and third position in the medals tally were picked by Punjab Police and BSF respectively.

However, the BSF team emerged as the overall champion on the basis of the points calculated to award the best team.

Kuldeep Singh of Punjab Police and Saraswati Chand of Orissa Police emerged as the best man and woman athletes respectively.

Kerela Police was adjudged the most disciplined team and best men and women team were picked up by BSF and CRPF teams respectively.


Story first published: Saturday, November 17, 2007, 20:13 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 17, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...