NSCB Military School to clash with Krida Prabodhini in finals

Pune, Dec 6 (UNI) Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Military School will clash with Krida Prabhodini in the finals of the Abhijeet Kadam Boys Under-17 Memorial Youth Football Tournament.

The tournament is jointly conducted by the Abhijeet Kadam Memorial Trust and the Deccan XI Football Cup, under the aegis of the Poona District Football Association (PDFA), on the green top of Bharati Vidyapeeth education complex at Dhankawadi.

In the semi-finals of the tournament, Krida Prabhodini outplayed last year's winners J N Petit 4-0, while Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Military School scraped past Delhi Public School 3-2.

In the first match, Krida Prabodhini started on a flying note with a penalty kick by Zuber Desai in the very 2nd minute after the referee Simon D'gama fouled Chetan Murteja for handling the ball, from there on there was no looking back for the strongly-built Krida Prabodhini boys, with Man of the Match Rohan Adnaik finding the goal on two occasions in the 2nd and 24th minute to take a huge lead.

Akshay Shinde scored another goal in the 28th minute to take his team to a 4-0 lead.

The J N Petit Dastur Boys struggled to keep pace and found their bearing in the second half to halt the massacre and maintain the score line till the end.

However, the second semi-final between Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Military School and Delhi Public School was a well contested one, with the Bose School prevailing 3-2.

DPS boys, through right wing, Saneep Bhatia scored the first goal in the 5th minute. However, Sunil Pawar replied for Bose Military School in the 10th minute. DPS again struck in the 2nd minute of the second half through Yash Shah to take a 2-1 lead, but their joy was short-lived as Abhijit Walgude struck for the Military School to level scores. The decider however came in the 46th minute from the Man of the Match Ram Bhandari, who took the Bose team into the finals.

The finals between Krida Probodhini and Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Military School will be played at 1600 hrs. The prizes will be given away at the hands of Prabhakar Deshmukh, Collector, Pune District and cine actress Raima Sen.

Results: Semi-finals: Krida Probodhini: 4 (Zuber Desai 2 min, Rohan Adnaik 4, 24 min, Akshay Shinde 28 min) bt JN Petit School: 0; Man of Match: Rohan Adnaik.

Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Military School: 3 (Sunil Pawar 10 min, Abhijit Walugude 42 min, Ram Bhandari 46 min) bt Delhi Public School: 2 (Sandeep Bhatiya 5 min, Yash Shah 32 min); Man of Match: Ram Bhandari.


Story first published: Friday, December 7, 2007, 16:52 [IST]
Other articles published on Dec 7, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...