Home » More Sports » Olympian wrestler Mane to be given URL Foundation award

Olympian wrestler Mane to be given URL Foundation award

Mumbai, May 26 (UNI) Olympian wrestler Maruti Mane, a double medalist in the 1962 Asian Games at Jakarta, noted sports scribe Vinayak Dalvi, Kabaddi organiser Prabhakar Amrute, Carrom player Devji Sumra, Yashwant Naik (Kho-Kho), and Bapu Samlewale (Mallakhamb) will be awarded this year's URL Foundation Sports Awards here on May 29.

URL Foundation President and sports administrator Udaydada Lad said the annual awards will be presented by Legislative Council leader of opposition Nitin Gadkari in the presence of Olympian and Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award winner Dhanraj Pillay.

The foundation has been presenting these awards since 2000, he added.

The awardees will be presented cash prize of Rs 11,000 each along with a memento. Prominent sports personalities who have received the awards earlier include the doyen of kabaddi Shankarrao alias Buwa Salvi, Uday Deshpande and Dattaram Dudam well known exponents of mallakhamb, sport scribe Vasant Bhalekar, Datta Sawant, Sanjay Parab, Arjuna Awardee Maya Akre (Kabaddi), Dadoji Konddeo Award winning kabaddi coach Bapu Kharmale, Carrom international Arun Kedar, and popular wrestlers Narsing Yadav and Harishchandra Birajdar.


Story first published: Monday, May 26, 2008, 16:37 [IST]
Other articles published on May 26, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...