Home » More Sports » ONGC announces prize money of Rs 1.25 for I-League

ONGC announces prize money of Rs 1.25 for I-League

New Delhi, Sep 24 (UNI) I-League sponsors ONGC today announced a total prize money of Rs 1.25 crores for the second edition of the tournament which gets underway on Friday.

While the winners will take home Rs 50 lakh, the runners-up will get Rs 28 lakh. The third and fourth position holders will be awarded Rs 20 lakh and Rs 10 lakh respectively.

A cash award of Rs 25,000 each will be given to the best player of the league, highest scorer, best midfielder, best defender, best goalkeeper and best coach. The Man of the Match will be richer by Rs 5,000.

The team that wins the Fairplay award will receive Rs one lakh.

This year ONGC has reduced the sponsorship amount to Rs six crore from Rs seven crore last year.

Talking about the level of facilities and infrastructure in the various clubs, AIFF general secretary Alberto Colaco said,''almost 60 per cent of clubs in the I-League have matched the AFC norms.

But unless all the clubs come up to the AFC standard, we cannot play in the Asian Champions League.'' When asked about the number of foreign players allowed per team he said,''three foreign players can be registered. All three can play in a match. If one is injured and cannot play for the rest of the season, he cannot be replaced.'' Colaco also released the itinerary for the League.

''Dates have been decided for most of the I-League fixtures. Once the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) announces the dates for its competitions, dates for the rest of the matches will be announced as well,'' he stated.

The itinerary of the I-League is as folows: Round I: 26.09.08: KEB vs Chirag United (Kolkata) Vasco vs SCG (Goa) 27.09.08: Mohun Bagan vs Mumbai FC (Kolkata) Churchill Brothers vs MU (Goa) 29.09.08: Mohammedan Sporting vs AI (Kolkata) Dempo vs JCT (Goa) Round II: 30.09.08: KEB vs Mumbai FC (Kolkata) 02.10.08: Vasco vs JCT (Goa) 03.10.08: Mohun Bagan vs AI (Kolkata) 04.10.08: SCG vs Mohammedan Sporting (Goa) MU vs Chirag United (Mumbai) 05.10.08: Churchill Brothers vs Dempo (Goa) Round III: 11.10.08: JCT vs Mohammedan Sporting (Ludhiana) Mu vs Mumbai FC (Mumbai) 12.10.08: Chirag United vs Churchill Brothers (Kolkata) AI vs KEB Dempo vs Vasco (Goa) Round IV: 18.10.08: JCT vs MU (Ludhiana) AI vs Chirag United KEB vs Vasco (Kolkata) Mumbai FC vs Dempo 19.10.08: Mohammedan Sporting vs Mohun Bagan (Kolkata) Churchill Brothers vs SCG (Goa) Round V: 23.10.08: JCT vs Chirag United (Ludhiana) 24.10.08: Mohammedan Sporting vs MU (Kolkata) Mumbai FC vs SCG 25.10.08: Mohun Bagan vs KEB (Kolkata) Vasco vs Churchill Brothers (Goa) 26.10.08: Dempo vs AI (Goa) UNI AB CS RN1443

Story first published: Wednesday, September 24, 2008, 15:10 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 24, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...