Paris, Los Angeles to be confirmed as Olympics venues

Posted By: PTI
From left, Mayor of Los Angeles Eric Garcetti, International Olympic Committee, IOC, President Thomas Bach, and Mayor of Paris Anne Hidalgo gesture, during a press conference

Lima, September 13: The International Olympic Committee will confirm Paris and Los Angeles as hosts for the 2024 and 2028 Olympics here on Wednesday (September 13), crowning two cities at the same time in a historic first for the embattled sports body.

After a week that has seen the IOC forced onto the defensive over mounting corruption allegations, the Olympic movement will bask in a welcome jolt of good news the two cities celebrate their respective awards.

Both will go through the formalities of outlining their bids in 25-minute presentations to the IOC membership starting at 12 PM local time (1700 GMT, 10.30 PM IST) at Lima Convention Centre.

At 1 PM (1800 GMT, 11.30 PM IST) the IOC will vote to ratify the deal, bringing to an end a mostly amicable campaign that has been stripped of the usual drama and intrigue ever since Paris and Los Angeles agreed to split 2024 and 2028 in July.

"It's a big win and we are here to really enjoy it," said Paris 2024 bid co-chief Tony Estanguet, reflecting the triumphant mood among the 60-strong French delegation in the Peruvian capital.

Los Angeles officials meanwhile insist they are more than satisfied with the outcome, rejecting suggestions that their failure to win the 2024 Games represented a defeat.

The California metropolis will receive roughly USD 100 million more than Paris 2024 in IOC funding for 2028, and will also benefit from a USD 180 million interest-free advance which means the city can begin to create a sporting legacy well before the Games take place in 11 years' time.

"We think the result is extraordinary," Los Angeles 2028 bid chief Casey Wasserman told AFP. "We'll be celebrating on Wednesday night."

For Quick Alerts
ALLOW NOTIFICATIONS
For Daily Alerts

    Story first published: Wednesday, September 13, 2017, 11:15 [IST]
    Other articles published on Sep 13, 2017
    POLLS

    Get breaking news alerts from myKhel

    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Mykhel sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Mykhel website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more