Pinal Shah and Jaskaran Singh shine

Chandigarh, Sep 23 (UNI) LIC Cricket Club today tasted their first victory in 15th all India J P Atray Memorial Cricket Tournament at Sector 16 Cricket Stadium, when they beat PCA Colts by three wickets and garnered four poitns.

Man of the match Sunny Singh (54 , 11x4s) and former Indian skipper Saurav Ganguly (54, 4x4s, 1x6) were the principal scorers for LIC Cricket Club. LIC were further helped by Abir Lavasa (25) and Rajesh Patha (22) in getting past the modest total of 208 for 8 posted by PCA Colts in the allotted 50 overs. Sunny Sohal (55) and Amitoz Singh (39) were the main run getters for PCA Colts while Rajesh Patha (3 for 45) and Bablu Kumar (2 for 39) were the main wicket takers for LIC.

Brief scores : PCA Colts: 208 for 8 in 50 overs (Sunny Sohal 55, Amitoz Singh 39, Hitesh Anand 28, Rajesh Patha 3 for 45, Bablu Kumar 2 for 39). LIC: 209 for 7 in 49.2 overs (Sunny Singh 54, Saurav Ganguly 54, Abir Lavasa 25, Gaurav Gambhir 2 for 29, Rahul Sharma 2 for 43 ) LIC win by 3 wickets. LIC 4 points. Man of the Match : Sunny Singh,At St. John's Schoo, Sector 26, Indian Oil defeated Assam by 183 runs. Indian Oil plundered the Assam bowling with Pinal Shah leading the assault. He scored a whirlwind 139 off just 126 balls including 6 boundaries and 6x6s. He was ably supported by Cheteshwar Pujara (50, 5x4s) and the two put on a 119 runs partnership for the 2nd wicket.

Aditya Tare (48, 2x4s, 1x6) was the other successful batsman.

Parkash Bhagat (3 for 59) and Vikrant Yadav (2 for 49) were the main wicket takers for Assam.

Replying Assam were bundled out for 112 in 35.1 overs with Chintan Shah turning in devastating spell of 8.1-25-5. Balwinder Sandhu (3 for 33) and Presh Patel (2 for 16) were the other wicket takers.

Tajinder Singh (30) and Amrinder (29) were the main scorers for Assam. Indian Oil got 5 point, including bonus while Assam got minus one. Pinal shah was declared man of the match Brief scores: Indian Oil: 295 for 8 in 50 overs (Pinal Shah 139, Chiteshwar Pujara 50, Aditya Tore 48), Parkash Bhagat 3 for 59, Vikrant Yadav 2 for 49).

Assam: 112 all out in 35.1 overs (Tajinder Singh 30, Amrinder 29, Chintan Shah 5 for 25, Balwinder Sandhu 3 for 33, Presh Patel 2 for 16). Man of the Match Pinal Shah At the DAV School Sector 8, the match between PCC and HPCA Academy was an engrossing affair. HPCA won the toss elected to field. They were soon rattled by the Himachal bowlers as three of their batsmen Karan Goel (6), Ravneet Ricky (8) and Pankaj Dharmani (1) were back in the pavilion with score reading a misrable 35 for 3.


Story first published: Wednesday, September 24, 2008, 11:29 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 24, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...