Home » More Sports » Pradosh, Kiran in men singles, Leena Dhapre into semi finals

Pradosh, Kiran in men singles, Leena Dhapre into semi finals

Panaji, Aug 21 (UNI) Defending champions Kiran Makode (Nagpur) Arvind Gangani (Surat), Pradosh Silimkhan (Goa) and Samir Govikar (Mumbai) made it to the semi-finals in the men's single of the 42nd LIC Western Zonal Badminton tournament, hosted by LIC of Goa division and inaugurated at SAG Indoor Stadium, Campal today.

While in the ladies singles, Reigning champion Leena Dhapre, S A Potnis, S S Sovani(all from Pune) and V Shirodkar (Satara) also sailed into semi finals.

In the quarter finals today, in the men's single events, Kiran Makode (Nagpur) beat Hiren Shastri (Gandhinagar) 21-6:21-12 Arvind Gagani (Surat) defeated M R Shevde (Mumbai) 21-12,21-5 Pradosh Silimkhan (Goa) defeated Manish Shah (Gandhinagar) 21-15:21-10 Samir Govilkar(Mumbai) defeated Tushar Kadam (Vadodara) 21-10:21-15 In the ladies singles quarter finals, Leena Dhapre(Pune) made short work of Aruna Gautam (Goa) 21-3;21-3. S A Potnis (Pune) defeated S A Deshpande (Pune) 21-14:21-12 S S Sovani (Pune) defeated J M Phulambrikar (Aurangabad) 21-17. 21-18, and V Shirodkar (Satara) beat H A Shirsat (Nashik) 21-5, 21-6.

In the semi finals tomorrow, Pradosh Silimkhan (Goa) will clash against Kiran Makode (Nagpur), while Arvind Gangani (Surat) will take on Samir Govikar (Mumbai) in the men's event.

In the women's section, Leena Dhapre (Pune) will meet S A Potnis (Pune) and S S Sovani (Pune) will take on V Shirodkar (Satara) in the semi finals.


Story first published: Thursday, August 21, 2008, 23:01 [IST]
Other articles published on Aug 21, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...