Home » More Sports » PSPB retains men's, women's titles

PSPB retains men's, women's titles

Panaji, Jan 22 (UNI) Petroleum Sports Promotional Board (PSPB) retained the Rahimtoola Cup and the Chadha Cup for men and women defeating Air India and Railways respectively in the finals of the 63rd Interstate Interzonal Badminton championship held at the SAG Indoor Stadium, Campal.

PSPB has retained both the titles for the ninth year in succession.

In the finals today, PSPB men defeated Air India 3-0. In the first singles, PSPB's Anup Sridhar defeated Air India's Utsav Mishra in a close fight 21-19, 21-18. In the second singles, B Chetan Anand, after losing the first set 20-22 to Anand Pawar, won the next two sets 21-16, 23-21. In the doubles, Rupesh Kumar and V Diju beat Jishnu Sanyal and Akshay Dewalkar 21-19, 21-19.

In the women's event for the Chadha Cup, PSPB blanked Railways 2-0. In the first singles, Saina Nehwal made short work of Parssa Naqvi 21-2, 21-15, and in the doubles Jawala Gutta and Shruti Kurien defeated Dhanya Nair and Anita Ohlan 21-11, 21-13.


Story first published: Tuesday, January 22, 2008, 20:38 [IST]
Other articles published on Jan 22, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...