Pune bags top position in Thane Marathon

Thane, Jul 13 (UNI) Pune runners notched the top position in the 19th Thane Varsha Marathon held here today.

The Marathon, organised by Thane Marathon Trust and Thane District Amateur Association under the aegis of Maharashtra Ameteur Athletic Association (MAAA), took off from the Marathon Chowk of the city and drew a large crowd with the maximum participants being from the under-17 category.

Main attraction of the event that witnessed participation of athletes from various districts of the State, was participation of at least a dozen blind persons, including children, which is the first time in the history of the event.

In the main Marathon event of 42.195 kms, all the winners were from Pune. Niraj Pal Singh of the Pune District Amateur Association timed 2:33;00 and bagged the first position, while the second position went to Dattatray Jayabhai also from Pune and Nathuram finished third with 2:39:12 and 2:39:16 respectively.

In the wheel chair run for handicapped (one km) though Mumbai bagged three prizes with Satyaprakash Tiwari, Prakash Nadar and Rajaram Ghag, Thane runners Wajid Kureshi and Suresh Pachame won the first and second positions respectively.


Story first published: Sunday, July 13, 2008, 23:03 [IST]
Other articles published on Jul 13, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...