Home » More Sports »PV Sindhu, Sakshi Malik, Dipa Karmakar, Jitu Rai chosen for Khel Ratna

PV Sindhu, Sakshi Malik, Dipa Karmakar, Jitu Rai chosen for Khel Ratna

Posted By:

New Delhi, Aug 22: India's Rio Olympics 2016 medallists PV Sindhu and Sakshi Malik were selected for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award along with Dipa Karmakar and Jitu Rai. This is for the 1st time that 4 have been chosen for the honour.

Who is Sindhu?

On Monday (August 22), Government of India announced 4 names for the prestigious Khel Ratna award, the highest sporting honour. (Who is Sakshi?)

PV Sindhu kisses her silver medal at Rio Olympics

"National Sports Awards are given every year to recognise and reward excellence in sports. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years," Government of India said in a press release today.

21-year-old Sindhu won a silver medal in women's singles badminton event at Rio Olympis. Wrestler Sakshi claimed a bronze. Gymnast Dipa missed a medal in Rio by a whisker, finishing 4th.

Shooter Jitu has been doing well in international tournaments but could not replicate the same performance in Rio Games.

Arjuna and Dronacharya awards were also announced today. Cricketer Ajinkya Rahane is one of the recipients of Arjuna Award. Dipa's coach Bishweshwar Nandi was chosen for Dronacharya Award.

"Selection Committee for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards was headed by Justice S.K. Agarwal, Retired Delhi High Court Judge. Selection Committee for Dronacharya Awards and Dhyan Chand Awards was headed by Ms. M.C. Mary Kom. Selection Committee for Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar was headed by Shri Rajiv Yadav, Secretary (Sports).

"Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, the Government has decided to confer awards upon the following sportspersons/ coaches/organizations," the press release added.

"The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India at a specially organised function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29, 2016.

"Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee will receive a cash prize of Rs.7.5 lakh. Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs.5 lakh each. Recipients of Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar will be given Trophies and certificates. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments will be given MAKA Trophy, award money of Rs. 10 lakh and certificate."

Dipa Karmakar competing at Rio Olympics

Full list of National Sports Awards 2016

Khel Ratna: PV Sindhu (Badminton), Sakshi Malik (Wrestling), Dipa Karmakar (Gymnastics), Jitu Rai (Shooting)

Dronacharya Awards: Nagapuri Ramesh (Athletics), Sagar Mal Dhayal (Boxing), Raj Kumar Sharma (Cricket), Bishweshwar Nandi (Gymnastics), S Pradeep Kumar (Swimming, Lifetime), Mahabir Singh (Wrestling, Lifetime)

Arjuna Awards: Rajat Chauhan (Archery), Lalita Babar (Athletics), Sourav Kothari (Billiards and Snooker), Shiva Thapa (Boxing), Ajinkya Rahane (Cricket), Subrata Paul (Football), Rani (Hockey), VR Raghunath (Hockey), Gurpreet Singh (Shooting), Apurvi Chandela (Shooting), Soumyajit Ghosh (Table Tennis), Vinesh (Wrestling), Amit Kumar (Wrestling), Sandeep Singh Mann (Para Athletics), Virender Singh (Wrestling, Deaf)

Dhyan Chand Award 2015: Satti Geetha (Athletics), Sylvanus Dung Dung (Hockey), Rajendra Prahlad Shelke (Rowing)

OneIndia News

Story first published: Monday, August 22, 2016, 17:37 [IST]
Other articles published on Aug 22, 2016
Please Wait while comments are loading...