Race for berth in final hots up: India A to take on Kiwis

Chennai, Sep 20 (UNI) The threat of disruption by rain notwithstanding, India 'A' would be locked in a fierce battle with New Zealand 'A' when the triangular series resumes at the M A Chidambaram stadium here tomorrow.

In the previous round of matches held in Hyderabad, the three teams gained four points each. India A, already exploiting the home advantage, will be having the edge on the track at the historic Chepauk, where leggie Piyush Chawla and left-arm pacer Irfan Pathan could have a go at the Kiwi batsmen.

India A captain S Badrinath, the stylish right hander, will be looking for another sparkling knock on his home ground after having steered his side to a win at Hyderabad against the Kiwis.

The Kiwis will be taking on their traditional rivals Australia on September 22, followng which India A will play against Australia A on September 24, to decide the qualifiers for the finals. The final will be played on September 26.

After the triangular series, while the Aussies return home, New Zealand and India A will face each other in two four-day matches, the first from September 28 to October 1 and the second game from October 3 to 6, as the fixtures go.

The Teams: New Zealand A(from) : Peter Gordon(Capt), James Edward Charles, Neil Trevor, Grant, Mark Raymond, Martin James, Gregory Robers, Brent, Michael James, Nathan Leslie, Iain Edward, Jeetan Kumar, Aaron James, Breadley Esmond, Bradley John, Reece Allan.

India A (from): S Badrinath (Capt), Robin Uthappa, Swapnil Asnodkar, Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthick, Rohit Sharma, Yusuf Pathan, Praveen Kumar, Piyush Chawla, Dhawal Kulkarni, Ravi TEja, Jaydev Shah Wriddiman Saha, Abhishek Nayar.

Umpires: M R Singh, S Das. Match Referee: Amarjit Kaypee.


Story first published: Saturday, September 20, 2008, 15:05 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 20, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...