Railways outplay Shooting For Success, USA

Posted By: Pti

Mumbai, Jan 30 (PTI) National champions Indian Railwaysdefeated their stronger rivals from USA, Shooting for Success,91-79 in a fast-paced men''s final to emerge winners of theUnited Phosphorous-Savio Cup All-India Basketball Tournamenthere today.

Shooting For Success, who made the final with an all-winrecord, were taken aback by the aggressive response fromRailways, led by captain Vishesh Braghuvanshi, who inspiredhis teammates with his intensity and accurate shooting.

He was easily the best player of the final, finishingwith the top score of 33 points, with the tall SardarYadwinder Singh supporting his effort with 20 points andGagandeep Singh chipping in with 16.

While Shooting For Success excelled in defence andrebounds, they fell woefully short in offence, with TerryFields waging a lone battle under the rival board andfinishing with 29 points. David Jones sunk four three-pointersfor his 13 points, while Amar Erikson added 12.

Trailing 61-163 at the end of the third quarter, Railwaysadmirably upped the pace of the game and ran away from theirrivals to open up a 70-63 lead.

Earlier, Geethu Anna Jose powered her team SouthernRailway to an emphatic 76-66 win over defending championsChattisgarh in the women''s final.

Braghuvanshi''s consistent showing in the tournament wonhim the Best Player award. The corresponsing award for womenwent to Chattisgarh''s Anju Lakra.

Scores (finals):

Men: Indian Railways 91 (Vishesh Braghuvanshi 33,Yadwinder Singh 20, Gagandeep Singh 16) bt Shooting ForSuccess, USA 79 (Terry Fields 29, David Jones 13, Amar Erikson12).

Best player women Anju Lakra (Chattisgarh)

Best player Men Vishesh Braghuvanshi (Rlys).

Story first published: Monday, January 31, 2011, 0:00 [IST]
Other articles published on Jan 31, 2011
Please Wait while comments are loading...