Rain plays spoilsport as SNGPL lifts maiden Nissar Trophy for Pak

New Delhi, Sept 18 (UNI) Delhi was left to rue a crucial first innings' 132-run lead which allowed Sui Northern Gas Pipeline Limited (SNGPL) to become the first Pakistani team to win the Mohammad Nissar Trophy after constant rain ruled out play on the fourth day at Feroz Shah Kotla here today.

Even though the Delhi team was in a strong position with a 384-run lead over vistors, a heavy downpour last evening left the outfield and playing area soggy and the umpires finally called off play at 1.30 pm after inspecting the conditions on three occasions.

It was the maiden victory for any Pakistani team while in the previous two editions, the then Ranji Champions, Uttar Pradesh in 2006 and Mumbai in 2007 took the honours.

In the first innings, Delhi was bundled out for a paltry 134 which was largely due to the heroics of Imran Khan who claimed a hat-trick and went on to pick six wickets.

The Pakistani side managed to take a crucial 132-run lead but the led by some strong batting performances by Akash Chopra and Virat Kohli, Delhi staged a stunning comeback and were leading by 384 runs.

In the second innings, Chopra scored 182 while Kohli fell short of a well-deserved double century by just three runs but the hosts were left stranded by the lashing rains.

Scores: Delhi (first innings): 134 all out, Kohli 52, Imran Ali 6/52.

SNGPL (first innings) 266 all out, Shehzad 56 not out, Nehra 3/70, C Nanada 3/24.

Delhi (second innings) 514 for 4, Kohli 197, Chopra 182 UNI RAR PY KN1834

Story first published: Thursday, September 18, 2008, 19:06 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 18, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...