Home » More Sports » RCA, PCA Colts, HPCA record wins in JP Atray

RCA, PCA Colts, HPCA record wins in JP Atray

Chandigarh, Sept 21 (UNI) PCA Colts defeated LIC by 31 runs in the 14th All India JP Atray Memorial Cricket Tournament at the St John's School ground in Sector 26 here today.

In other matches, Rajasthan Cricket Association snatched an exciting four-run victory over ITC Delhi at the DAV Senior Secondary School ground in Sector 8 and Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Academy defeated Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited by two wickets.

Batting first after winning the toss PCA Colts received shocks and were struggling at 70 for 5 but managed to post a handsome total of 244 before they were all out. This was made possible due to sensible batting by middle order batsman Chandan Madan who scored 77 runs in 90 balls. He hit four fours and three sixes. Madan was well supported by off spinner Ankur Jund who made 30. Right arm medium pacer Manu Kumar returned the flattering analysis of 4 for 27.

Farman Ahmed scalped 2 for 46.

In reply, openers Gurinder Saini and Amandeep Sonkar gave LIC Cricket Club good start as they put on 82 runs for the first wicket stand in 10 overs. Gurinder Saini returned to the pavlion, adjudged leg before wicket for 36 runs. There after LIC continued to lose wickets at regular intervals and were dismissed for 213 in 45.2 overs. The other contributors were Manu Kumar (40) and Farman Ahmed (27). Sarbajit Ladda (2 for 24), Barinder Singh (2 for 56) were the main wicket takers for PCA Colts.

PCA Colts got 4 points and LIC zero. Man of the Match award went to Chandan Madan of PCA Colts.

Meanwhile, at DAV School ground, Rajasthan Cricket Association (RCA) opted to bat after winning the toss. RCA scored a healthy total of 261 all out in 50 overs. Southpaw opening batsman Sidharth Joshi hit a brilliant 85 (11x4s, 1x6) He was ably supported by Rahul Kanwat (72, 4x4s, 2x6s). Sidharth Joshi and Rohit Kanwat were associated in a productive stand of 99 runs for the second wicket.

Rohit Jallani (30, 3x4s, 2x6s) and Rajesh Bishoni (23) made valuable contributions. ITC spinners Praveen Gupta (4 for 38) and Deepak Sharma (2 for 36) were the main wicket takers for ITC.

ITC replied with 257 for 8 in 50 overs but fell short of the target by four runs. Michel Vishal (69, 10x4s), (Kuldeep Rawat 39) and Pardeep Chawla (53 n.o., 3x4s, 2x6s) were the main run getters for ITC. Rahul Kanwat (2 for 43) and Afroze (2 for 12) were the main wicket takers for ITC. Sidharth Joshi was declared Man of the Match. With this win RCA got 4 points and ITC zero.

At the PCA Stadium, HPCA won the toss and decided to bowl first.

Medium pacers Varun Mishra (4 for 38) and Sangram Singh (2 for 45) restricted BPCL to 209 for 9 in 50 overs. Southpaw Parag Khanapurkar remained undefeated on 81(9x4s). Southpaw Sintashu Kotak made 38.

They put on a 107 runs for the fifth wicket.

Replying to the set target of 209 by BPCL, HPCA started their innings confidently as openers Monish Gupta (24, 2x4) and Hemant Dogra (35, 4x4) put on 61 runs for the first wicket partnership.

Sangram Singh (27, 3x4), Paras Dogra (22, 3x4) and Varun Mishra (24 1x4) were their main contributors. For BPCL Parag Khanapurkar (2 for 17) and Rohan Bane (2 for 17) were the main wicket takers. HPCA made 210 for 8 in 46 overs.

Varun Mishra (4 for 38 and 24 not out) got Man of the Match award. HPCA won the match by 2 wickets. With this win HPCA got 4 points and BPCL got zero.


Story first published: Friday, September 21, 2007, 21:34 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 21, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...