Home » More Sports » Sarath, Neha among 40 paddlers to be provided training for CWG

Sarath, Neha among 40 paddlers to be provided training for CWG

New Delhi, Oct 21 (UNI) Sharath Kamal, Neha Agarwal and Soumi Mondal have been included in the list of 40 paddlers by the Sports Ministry who would be provided state of the art training and exposure both at domestic and international levels to maximise India's medal tally at the 2010 Commonwealth Games.

Under the Scheme for ''Preparation of Indian Teams for Commonwealth Games, 2010,'' the Steering Committee of the Sports Ministry has approved the names of 32 (19 Men and 13 Women) players so far, for their inclusion in the 'Core Group' of sportspersons.

In addition, names of four Indian coach- National coach Kamlesh Mehta, Manjit Singh Dua, Bhawani Mutherjee, mantu Ghosh- and one foreign coach- Aleksey Yefremov- have also been approved in consultations with the Table Tennis Federation of India (TTFI).

The Steering Committee constituted by the Government under the Scheme, has also directed the TTFI to submit without delay the names of supporting personnel such as Sports Analyst, Physiotherapist, Masseur and Masseuse as per the Scheme for its approval. During the meeting, the TTFI has also informed the Committee that NIS, Patiala, Balewadi Sports Complex, Pune, National Academy for Juniors, Ajmer and Petroleum Sports Promotion Board, Ajmer have been identified as centres for imparting training to the Core Group of sportspersons.

Following are the names of sportspersons approved for their inclusion in the Core Group under the Scheme: Men: A Sharath Kamal, Subhajit Saha, Soumyadeep, A Amal Raj, Sourav Chakraborty, Divya Deshpande, Sayan Paul Roy, Zubin Kumar, Anirban Nandi, G Jatnendra, R Abhiahek, Devesh Karia, Aniket Koparkar, Omkar Togalkar, Pathik Mehta, Sanil Shetty, Raj Mondal, Somyajeet Ghosh, S Satyan, Shubham Sharma.

Women: Neha Agarwal, Mouma Das, Poulomi Ghatak, K Shamini, Sushmita Roy, Kasturi Chakraborty, Mansi Bhagwat, Madhurika Patkar, Pooja S Buddhe, Soumi Mondal, Ankita Das, Ashlesha Bodas.


Story first published: Wednesday, October 22, 2008, 12:19 [IST]
Other articles published on Oct 22, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...