Home » More Sports »Sarita stunned, gold rush for Jharkhand in boxing

Sarita stunned, gold rush for Jharkhand in boxing

Posted By: Pti

Jamshedpur, Feb 24 (PTI) Pinky Jangra shocked formerworld and Asian champion Laishram Sarita Devi of Manipur asHaryana and Jharkhand boxers hogged the limelight with sevengold medals each in the 34th National Games here today.

N Swapna Priya of Jharkhand provided another upset in thering when she stunned former world champion K C Lekha for thesuperheavy (+81kgs) title to lead the gold rush for the hostsstate.

Completely dominating the bout, Pinky did not give SartiaDevi any chance in fly weight category (51kg) to win the goldmedal bout 5-0. Andhra Pradesh''s A Punyavathi andUttarakhand''s Vinita Mahar won a bronze each.

It was indeed a memorable achievement for Pinky who hadstunned five time world champion M C Marykom in 2009 NationalChampionship quarterfinals in Jamshedpur.

In men''s flyweight (52kg), Sunil Kumar of Haryana addedanother gold by knocking down Santosh Harijan of Goa 4-2,while Gaurav Bidhuri (Delh) and Prakash Darjee (AurnachalPradesh) bagged a bronze each.

Sandeep of Haryana defeated Neeraj Goyat of Tripura 5-0for the light weight (60kg) title where Kulvinder (Kerala) andV D Rao (Karnataka) settled for the bronze medals.

Another gold for Haryana came in welter weight (69kg)when Dilbag Singh knocked down Amit Karki (Jharkhand) 2-0while Mandeep (Delhi) and Naresh Kumar (Chandigarh) bagged thebronze medals.

Arun Kumar of Haryana bagged another gold after beatingServices'' Hari Singh in superheavy weight (+91kg) as ManojKumar (Jharkhand) and G Shanmugha (TN) settled for bronze.

Pavitra of Haryana defeated Mandakini Chann of Jharkhand8-3 for the feather weight 57kg title where Pwilao Basumataray(Assam) and Priyanka Chandhary (Uttarakhand) won the bronzemedals.

Pooja made it a magnificent seven for Haryana when shedefeated Taruna Mishra of Jharkhand 8-1 in middleweight 75 kgsas Jenny R L (Mizoram) and Amanpreet Kaur (Punjab) won abronze each.

Jharkhand''s M Banjamin Lakra quelled the challenge ofAssam''s Shiva Thapa 4-1 for the bantam weight (56kg) tittle asVishwanath (Services) and Bajrang (Haryana) bagged the bronze.

The heavyweight category (91kg) saw Jharkhand''s ParveenKumar beat Services'' Manpreet Singh as Jagmeet Singh (J&K) andKrishan Kumar (Haryana) settled for bronze medals.

Sushma Kumari of Jharkhand defeated Suman of Haryana 8-1in women''s bantam weight (54 kgs) for another title for thehosts as Priyanka Khandepr (Goa) and Doli Singh (Bengal) wonthe bronze. .

Story first published: Thursday, February 24, 2011, 21:00 [IST]
Other articles published on Feb 24, 2011
Please Wait while comments are loading...