Sharmila wins her fourth major title

Mumbai, Dec 14 (UNI) She's young, but an experienced campaigner and the 16-year-old Sharmila Nicolllet from Bangalore maintained her composure and consistent form to avoid any last minute surprises and lift the title in the WIGA sponsored 58 th Ladies Western India Open Amateur Golf Championships at the Bombay Presidency Golf Course here today.

Having spent five years on the amateur circuit and going into the last day with a nine-stroke lead over Shraddhanjali, there were very little chance of Sharmila slipping up and she played true to form, returning a card of four over 74. Shraddhanjali had to do something spectacular on the final day to overhaul Sharmila, but she managed to get a four over 74.

''With a nine stroke lead on the final day, you have to be full of confidence and play aggressive, which I did on the last day, and if your opponents play better then you also get encouragement to play better, but that did not happen,'' said Sharmila after her fourth major title of the year.

Sharmila began the day impressively, going out on the front nine in 37 strokes. She had a birdie on the first hole and a double bogey on the 3rd and made it worse with another bogey on the eight hole.

On the back nine she had bogeys on the 11th, 14th and 15th holes and a birdie on the 18th.

It was Sharmila's fourth major title of 2007, having won the Chandigarh Ladies Golf Open, Punjab Ladies Golf Open and Noida Open Ladies Golf. The prize distribution was done by Major Dhruv Ghosh (WIGA) and Asha Shah (Ladies Captain, BPGC).

Following are the Final results (after 72 holes): Gold Division: Sharmila Nicolllet (0) (Bangalore) 296 (70,74,78,74); Shraddhanjali Singh (-1) (US) 305 (73,77,81,74); Neha Tripathi (-7) (Kolkatta) 310 (78,79,77,76); Shweta Galande (-4) (Del) 317 (83,79,80,75); Sonam Chugh (-7) (Delhi) 318 (81,79,79,79); Gurbani Singh (-7) (Delhi) 325 (80,83,79,83); Sonavi Chopra (Chandigardh) 326 (84,78,82,82); Nalini Singh (-9) (Delhi) 330 (77,81,85,87); Gauri Monga (-5) (Delhi) 332 (81,81,85,85); Mehar Atwal (Delhi) 333 (88,76,78,91); Vani Kapoor (Delhi) 334 (84,80,87,83).

Silver Division: Aarya Tikekar (Pune) 351 (87,86,91,87); Preet Sodhi (Mumbai) 351 (88,80,91,92); Bunty Khanna (Mumbai) 357 (88,89,91,89); Pratiksha Ravi (Chennai) 361 (89,90,91,91); Gursimer Badwal (Kapurtala) 365 (93,94,89,89).

Bronze Division: Sienda Madson (Mumbai) 418 (108, 89, 107, 114); Kavita Harsh (Mumbai) 450 (112,116,106,116); Neelu Chopra (Chandigarth) 410 (98,103,104,105); Nimmi Gowrishankar (Mumbai) 426 (101,109,103,113).


Story first published: Friday, December 14, 2007, 22:04 [IST]
Other articles published on Dec 14, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...