SSCB finishes on top after brilliant show in Water events

Posted By: Pti

Dhanbad, Feb 25 (PTI) A five-star effort by the ServicesSports Control Board (SSCB) in the canoeing and kayakingcompetition today ensured them an overall top finish in the34th National Games here.

The duo of Digvijay Negi and Bhupender Pundir beatHaryana''s Kuldeep Kumar and Vinod in the 200m men''s doublekayak to lead Services gold rush at the competition held inMaithon Dam of Dhanbad.

Kerala''s Manglem Singh and Jayanta Kumar Singh bagged thebronze.

The quartet of Yendapha Arambam, Amit Kumar, Vijay Kumarand Bhupender Pundir won the 200m men''s four kayak as theyfinished ahead of Kerala''s Manglem Singh, Shyam, Jayanta KUmarSingh and Genva Morris.

Ratesh Nair, Bhupinder Singh, Shiju Thomas and RangaSwamy of Andhra Pradesh bagged the bronze.

Jemsboy Oinam of Services defeated Rahul SinghKongjengbam of Manipur for the 200M men''s single canoeingwhere Adil Mohiudin Bhat of Jammu and Kashmir won the bronze.

Gurdeep Singh and Amarjeet of Services beat the pair ofSomarjit Singh and and Sawlabow of Andhra Pradesh for the 200mmen''s double canoe gold.

Ankit and Nafees of Madhya Pradesh won the bronze.

Their fifth gold came in 200m men''s four canoeing wherethe quartet of Sanjit Maisanam, Johnson Meitei Ningthoujam andDev Oinam reigned supreme.

Kerala (Hiran, Rajesh Kumar, Joseph and Vinu) and Manipur(Sony Singh, Nanao Singh, Suresh Singh Shagolshem andRajeshwor Meitei Khwairakpam) settled for the second and thirdplaces.

In the 200M men''s single kayaking Manipur''s ChingchingArambam beat Services Digvijay Negi for the gold medal whileZahoor Ahmed Lattoo of Jammu and Kashmir took the bronze.

Kerala bagged two gold in women''s events when the duo ofMinimol and Simimol beat Sandhya Kispotta and Ragina Kir ofAndaman for the title in 200m double kayaking.

Anao Devi and Bony Devi of Manipur bagged the bronze.

Kerala''s Beena, Minimol, Silpamol and Simimol earnedanother gold in the 200m four kayaking as Madhya Pradesh''s KhBidiyarani Khangjrakpam, Lajengabi Chanu, Yaiphabi Chanu andSonia bagged the silver.

Nanao Devi A, Shusila Devi Konjengbam, Laishram Bony Deviand Sanajaobi Devi of Manipur took the bronze.

Sushila Devi Konjengbam won the 200m women''s singlekayaking beating Silpamol of Kerala as Sima Dung Dung ofOrissa had to be content with a bronze.

Story first published: Saturday, February 26, 2011, 0:00 [IST]
Other articles published on Feb 26, 2011
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Get breaking news alerts from myKhel