Home » More Sports » Sunny Sidhu emerges winner in Maruti Suzuki Rally Desert Storm 2008

Sunny Sidhu emerges winner in Maruti Suzuki Rally Desert Storm 2008

Jaipur, Mar 18 (UNI) Sunny Sidhu emerged victorious in the sixth Maruti Suzuki Rally Desert Storm 2008 here today.

Driving his Maruti Suzuki Gypsy, Sidhu clocked in with 4:41:14 penalty points at the first position in the PRO Car category.

Sidhu was closely followed by Suresh Rana, with 4:52:25 penalty points and Capt Sameer Pande with 4:54:35 penalty points at the second and third positions respectively.

Mathew Paul Barrett with 6:09:54 penalty points was adjudged the winner in the PRO Bike category. Umesh Raheja was declared the winner in the NAV 4WD category.

The sixth edition of the MSRDS, the most adventurous annual event in the Thar Desert was flagged off on March 14. The rally covered a distance of 2200 Kms over the last four days and traversed through tough and sandy terrains of Bikaner, Jaiselmer, Khimsar, Sambhar and to finally reach here.

The highlight of the sixth MSRDS was that it was much tougher and exciting with 16 fresh competitive sections to test the endurance and skills of the drivers and the ruggedness of their cars/bikes.

Interestingly, for the first time, one of the competitive sections near Bikaner was held at night.

This year the rally had attracted an overwhelming participation with 96 entries. Rally enthusiasts from as far as Arunachal Pradesh in the east to Goa in the west took part to take on the challenges of the wilderness.

This year's participants include doctors, engineers, businessmen and housewives across all age groups.

For the first time, six teams with Maruti Suzuki employees competed in this year's rally in their Esteem, Swift and SX4s.


Story first published: Tuesday, March 18, 2008, 21:34 [IST]
Other articles published on Mar 18, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...