SWR's Thejkumar wins Railway Chess Championship

Hubli, Aug 12 (UNI) M S Thejkumar of South Western Railway won the individual title scoring seven points (39.5 progressive score) in the nine round All India Railway Chess Championship, which concluded here today.

In a marathon final round, which lasted 210 minutes, he conceded half a point to Prakash Ram of Northern Railway. But he emerged the winner on progressive score.

B T Murali Krishnan of Southern Railway, who defeated Mishra Soumyaranjan of Central Railway in his favourite Philidor defence game on the 46the move, bagged silver. He scored seven points and was placed second with a cut progressive score of 32.5.

While Laltu Chattarjee of Eastern Railway, Kolkata, prevailed upon Abhishek Das of South Western Railway (SWR) to win bronz with seven points and cut progressive score of 30 points, Shasrikant Kutwal of Western Railway, Mumbai, defeated S Mari Arul of Southern Railway. He was placed fourth with seven points and cut progressive score of 29 points.

All the four players qualified for the National 'B' Chess Championship to be held in Goa next month.


Story first published: Tuesday, August 12, 2008, 22:03 [IST]
Other articles published on Aug 12, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...