Home » More Sports » Teams from Pak, Australia, Sri Lanka for Twenty-20 tournament

Teams from Pak, Australia, Sri Lanka for Twenty-20 tournament

Chandigarh, Aug 31 (UNI) The Jan Nayak Chaudhary Devi Lal National Cricket Academy (JCDNCA) will organise the JCD International Cricket League (JCDICL), an international Twenty-20 cricket tournament, at the JCD Vidyapeeth, Sirsa from September 5.

Eight national and international cricket teams studded with international players like Mohammed Kaif, Nikhil Chopra, Naved Latif, Taufiq Umar would compete for the JCDICL Trophy.

JCDNCA president, Digvijay Singh disclosed that renowned international clubs like Lahore Badshah (Pakistan), Sydney Club (Australia), Sharjah Tigers (Dubai) and a Sri Lankan club would compete with Indian teams which include Air India, LIC Cricket Club, Indian Navy and JCDNCA.

He said Mohammed Kaif, Nikhil Chopra, Vijay Dahiya, Rishikesh Karnitkar and Manpreet Goni on India and Naved Latif, Taufiq Umar, Khaleed Bashir and Rahat of Pakistan have already confirmed their participation.

The winner and runner up teams in the tournament would pocket Rs 5 lakh and Rs 2.5 lakh as prize money respectively. The Man of the Series award would carry a prize money of Rs one lakh, while the man of the match award would be worth Rs 21,000.

The stadium where the matches will be held has been built as per the specifications of the Punjab Cricket Association's (PCA) stadium in Mohali. The stadium has a air-conditioned pavilion and change rooms for players.

It also has VIP enclosures and press enclosures and provision of day-and-night matches. Floodlights for the stadium have been imported from Musco Lighting Company, USA, and the soil for the stadium was transported from Bangalore, Singh informed.


Story first published: Sunday, August 31, 2008, 20:34 [IST]
Other articles published on Aug 31, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...