Home » More Sports » Ten states for tenpin bowling nationals from Oct 13

Ten states for tenpin bowling nationals from Oct 13

Chennai, Oct 11 (UNI) Fast developing into a competitive sport, tenpin bowling will have its second national championship for men and women here from October 13 to 19 with bowlers from 10 states vying for honours.

Announcing this at a press conference here, Tenpin Bowling Federation of India President Karti P Chidambaram said 46 players in the men's section and 16 in the women's section would be competing in men's and women's doubles, mixed doubles, mixed Trios, and Mixed team of five events.

Karnataka are the defending champions and Tamil Nadu the runners up in the first edition of the nationals held in Bangalore last year.

The bowlers would also be vying for selection to the Indian team for the Asian Inter city championships to be held in Macau in China from Decemebr 1 to 7, in World Cup competition to be held in Mexico from November 7 to 14 and the fourth Commonwealth Championships to be held at Belfast in Northern Ireland from November 23 to 24.

Reigning national champions Vijay Punjabi of Karnataka and Sumathi Nallabantu of Andhra Pradesh, S A Hameed of Deli, P Srinath (Karnataka), would be spearheading the challenge. Others in fray include Raj Mohan, Dinesh Kumar, Dalbir Singh of West Bengal, Vijay Dasari of Andhra Pradesh, Dhru Sarda.


Story first published: Saturday, October 11, 2008, 17:05 [IST]
Other articles published on Oct 11, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...