Territorial Army ground Air Force in final

Chandigarh, Oct 25 (UNI) Territorial Army emerged new champions as they registered an exciting and absorbing 13-11 verdict against Indian Air Force in the final of the Cycle Polo Federation Cup conducted by the Chandigarh Cycle Polo Association at the Chandigarh Police Lines ground here today.

In nerve-whacking final, the teams were tied seven-all at the end of second chukker. A fine coordination among Shanoj (6), Shabir (4) and Shrikant Sagarkar (2) tilted the balance in favour of Territorial Army. Their top scorer Shanoj struck three goals in the first chukker, one in the second and two in the fourth chukker to deny strong contenders Indian Air Force the coveted title.

Indian Air Force attack was spearheaded by brilliant rider Ashruddin who struck 10 goals, including two hat-tricks for the losers. Jatinder netted one in the fourth chukker.

Maharashtra defeated Uttar Pradesh by 15-10 to decide the third and fourth positions.

Haryana Inspector General of Police Satinder Kumar distributed the prizes.

Results: Final: Territorial Army (Shanoj 6, Shabir 4, Srikant Sagarkar 2) bt Indian Air Force (Ashruddin 10, including two hatricks, Jatinder 1) 13-11.

Third and fourth places: Maharashtra ( Milind 6, Harshal 4, Shivrajan 3, Nikhil 2) bt Uttar Pradesh (Prarmod 6, Manoj 2, Ravi Shekhar 1, Pawan Kumar 1) by 15-10.


Story first published: Thursday, October 25, 2007, 21:06 [IST]
Other articles published on Oct 25, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...