TSD Rally: Chidananda-Sujith pair makes it four wins in a row in Goa

Posted By:
The winning duo - Chidananda Murthy (left) and BS Sujith Kumar
Panaji (Goa), Sept 21: Team Tata Motors' Chidananda Murthy and navigator BS Sujith Kumar, from Bangalore, scored an emphatic win in the Pro Stock category of the Rally de Goa, the fifth round of the 2014 Indian National TSD Rally Championship, here on Sunday. They have thus made it four wins in a row with the earlier wins coming in Coimbatore, Bangalore and Jaipur.

With 106 points in their kitty after winning today, they have begun to consolidate their position in the Pro Stock category. They have been the Pro Stock National champions in 2012 and 2013 and hope to make it a hat-trick this year.

There was more joy for Team Tata Motors as Vikas Puttur-Sekar V and Saurav Chatterjee-Ashoke Kumar Basu finished second and third respectively making it clean sweep of the podium places. Chatterjee-Basu are second in the championship with 79 points.

"It feels great to have got four wins in a row. After this win and consolidating our position, we are getting increasingly hopeful of a third National title," said Chidananda.

"The event was a good one and we enjoyed it. Naturally, the icing on the cake is the fourth win on the trot. We hope to continue our form in the next event too," Sujith said.

In the Pro Expert category, Ajgar Ali-Mohammad Musthafa MK won, with MD Ganesh Moorthy-T Nagarajan (Team Tata Motors) second and Sandeep Mukherjee-Suvarjit Datta third. Ali-Musthafa, also the Overall champs, lead the championship with 96 points, while Maruthi-Anand are second with 79.

In the All Ladies Class, Team Tata Motors' Sheena and Prathibha Anand triumphed.


Pro Stock: 1. Chidananda Murthy-BS Sujith Kumar (01:08 minutes, Team Tata Motors); 2. Vikas Puttur-Sekar V (01:29, Team Tata Motors); 3. Saurav Chatterjee-Ashoke Kumar Basu (01:56, Team Tata Motors); 4. Amarnath GJ-Mokthiyar Ahmed (02:45); 5. Suraj Deshmukh-Samir Malwade (24:46).

Pro Expert: 1. Ajgar Ali-Mohammad Musthafa MK (Total penalty: 00:30 seconds); 2. MD Ganesh Moorthy-T Nagarajan (00:38, Team Tata Motors); 3. Sandeep Mukherjee-Suvarjit Datta (00:39); 4. Karthick Maruthi-Shankar Anand (00:42); 5. Srikanth Gowda-M Chandrashekar (00:43, Team Tata Motors).

All ladies: Sheena-Prathibha Anand (11:40, Team Tata Motors).

OneIndia News

Story first published: Sunday, September 21, 2014, 19:31 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 21, 2014
Please Wait while comments are loading...