Home » More Sports »Walawalkar emerges overall winner

Walawalkar emerges overall winner

Panaji, Nov 26: Three time national Karting Champions Mumbai's Ameya Walawalkar, representing Mohite's racing sped home to first position in both the races of MRF-MAI senior Indian National Karting Championship to emerge over all winners in the 4th round of the Championship at Goa Kart, Nuvem in south Goa.

Twenty-six-year old Walawalkar, who won the third round in Kolhapur, sped to victory in his world Formula 14 hp karts, completing the 32 lap first race in 16.14.677, ahead of Abbas Ghadially from Speed Rayo racing, Mumbai and teammate Reyomand Banerjee.

Walawalkar maintained the momentum in the second race over 43 laps to take the winner's flag in 21.31.896, with Audumbar Hede coming second and Mumbai's Samyak Shah third.

''It feels great after winning this race. With this I have almost confirmed my championship title. It was my second national title in a row still a race to go. A lot of hardwork has gone into this achievement and especially the Team Mohite racing has raced as a team with everyone giving their cent per cent,'' said Walawalkar.

Before the final round in Kolhapur, the team trophy and INKC WS title is almost sealed and it is a mere formality that they will be running in the final round. Team Mohite's racing are leading with 419 points, followed by Speed Rayo racing on 321 points and team Avalanche is third with 59 points.

With this win, Walawalkar leads the standing with 166 points from six wins and one third place finished, while his colleague from Goa Audhumber Hede is on 120 points with two wins. Mumbai's Speed Rayo's Racing's Reyomand Banajee is third with 115 points behind the leader with 51 points.

Following are the final results:- INKC-WF Senior race:1 Ameya Walawalkar(Team Mohite Racing Mumbai) 16.14.677 secs, Abbas Ghadially( Speed Rayo Racing, Mumbai) 16.16.037 secs, Reymond Banajee( Speed Rayo) 16.25.320 secs. Vishrut Sharma( Mumbai)16.25.441, Rounak Patil( Team Mohite's racing Kolhapur) 16.26.144 secs.

INKC Junior: Nikhil P Kashyap( Bangalore), 10.08.880 secs, Abha Mankar( Pune) 10.09.305 secs, Vikas Anand( Chennai) 10.22.629 secs, Amey Bafna( Mumbai) 10.17.301 secs, Jules Goes( Goa) 10.03.076 secs.

Ladie class: Abha Mankar( Pune) 5.46.325 secs, Sneha Sharma( Mumbai) 5.49.160 secs, Malini Chakravarty( Calcutta) 5.58.009 secs, Marylou De Mello( Goa) 5.51. 583 secs, Tanisha Shah( Goa) 6.08.901 secs.

Cadet class: Arjun Maine( Kolhapur) 5.47.142secs, Dhruv Mohite (Kolhapur) 5.47.450 secs, Dilion Dourado( Goa) 5.52.732 secs, Kush Maine( Bangalore) 5.59.442 secs, Sruthik P( Chennai) 6.08.004 secs.

INKC WF Senior: Ameya Walawalkar( Team Mohite Mumbai) 21.31.696 secs, Audumber Hede( Team Mohite Goa) 21.35.817 secs, Samyak Shah (Team Mohite Mumbai)21.36.060 secs, Ashutosh Kale( Team Mohite Kolhapur) 21.37.922 secs, Ashitosh Muni( Speed Rayo Mumbai) 21.38.294 secs.

KTC: Niazam Ahmed( Goa)10.19.668 secs, Arshaan Anees( Mumbai) 10.21.078 secs, Akshay Hede( Goa) 10.21.603 secs, Sneha Sharma( Mumbai) 10.30. 354 secs, Chengappa Dali( Mysore) 10.40.139 secs.


Story first published: Monday, November 26, 2007, 14:36 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 26, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...