West Bengal to clash with Karnataka for title

Bangalore, Jan 22 (UNI) Defending champions West Bengal and hosts Karnataka will lock horns in the finals of the 7th All India BSNL Football Tournament here tomorrow.

In the semifinals today, while West Bengal defeated Kerala 4-1 in a tie breaker, Karnataka defeated Punjab 2-1.

Kerala, despite having the upper hand throughout the match, failed to cash in on the opportunities and lost the match in a tie breaker, adopted as both the teams failed to score in regular time.

Gopal Das, Rajat K Biswas, Pankaj Pal and Sanjib Ghosh scored for the winners, while the lone goal for Kerala was scored by Ubadulla.

In the second semifinal, last year runners up Karnataka opened their account in the 16th minute through Kadiravan. But Punjab's Sunil Yadav was quick to score the equaliser in the 21st minute.

However, Kadiravan completed Karnataka's rally by scoring the winning goal in the 43rd minute in the second half.

Kerala and Punjab would clash tomorrow for the third place.


Story first published: Tuesday, January 22, 2008, 16:42 [IST]
Other articles published on Jan 22, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...