Who are India's flag-bearers at Olympics?

Posted By:

Bangalore, Jul 19: Wrestler Sushil Kumar has been given the honour of carrying India's flag at the London Olympics 2012 Opening Ceremony on Jul 27.

Sushil Kumar shot to fame during the last Olympics in 2008 in Beijing by winning a bronze medal.

London Olympics Special

Sushil Kumar (left)

Hockey player Balbir Singh Sr. is the only sportsperson to have received the honour of carrying the flag twice.

Athlete Shiny Abraham-Wilson was the first woman to carry the flag. She was the flag-bearer at the 1992 Barcelona Games.

Anju Bobby George was the second woman to join Shiny, at the 2004 Athens Olympics.

Here we look at full list of India's flag-bearers at the Summer Olympics.

Year Athlete Sport
2012 London Olympics Sushil Kumar Wrestling
2008 Beijing Olympics Rajyavardhan Rathore Shooting
2004 Athens Olympics Anju Bobby George Longjump
2000 Sydney Olympics Leander Paes Tennis
1996 Atlanta Olympics Pargat Singh Hockey
1992 Barcelona Olympics Shiny Abraham-Wilson Athletics
1988 Seoul Olympics Kartar Dhillon Singh Wrestling
1984 Los Angeles Olympics Zafar Iqbal Hockey
1972 Munich Olympics Devine Jones
1964 Tokyo Olympics Gurbachan Singh Randhawa Athletics
1956 Melbourne Olympics Balbir Singh Sr. Hockey
1952 Helsinki Olympics Balbir Singh Sr. Hockey
1936 Berlin Olympics Dhyan Chand Hockey
1932 Los Angeles Olympics Lal Shah Bokhari
1920 Antwerp Olympics Purma Bannerjee

OneIndia News

Story first published: Thursday, July 19, 2012, 17:00 [IST]
Other articles published on Jul 19, 2012
Please Wait while comments are loading...