Yadav shocks Khatri to enter quarter-finals

Mumbai, Nov 19 (UNI) Unseeded Mukul Yadav of Delhi shocked fancied Aditya Khatri of Maharashtra to storm into the boys' under-13 quarter-final, in the 65th CCI Indiabulls Western India Open Squash Tournament at the CCI here today.

Khatri expectedly snatched the opening game to live up to his reputation. But Yadav surprised his formidable opponent by taking a 2-1 lead after bagging the second and third games which were tight.

Khatri came back to win the fourth game to force the decider. He ran Yadav close, but he trailed all along. A slender lead in the end proved decisive and Yadav sealed the issue with a sigh of relief.

Another fancied player Harshit Muchal of Rajasthan survived a scare before prevailing over Sani Numair of Maharashtra 11-9, 6-11, 12-10, 11-2 to enter the boys under-15 quarter-finals, after enduring a tight opening game and a third game that stretched into extra points.

Zain Motiwala stretched his winning streak following an exciting 11-2, 8-11, 11-5, 9-11, 11-5 win over Aman Agarwal in a boys under-11 third round encounter that went down to the wire.

In the same category, Senthil Kumar Velavan of Tamil Nadu was forced to struggle before getting past upcoming junior Dev Vazirani of Maharashtra 11-3, 12-10, 11-9 in a close contest.

Joining Velavan in the next round was state mate Abhay Singh who overcame Jaineel Parikh of Rajasthan 11-3, 11-6, 11-4.

Results: Boys U-15 (PQF): Kush Kumar (Del) bt Chaitanya Desai (Mah) 11-4, 11-9, 11-2; Harshit Muchal (Raj) bt Sani Numair (Mah) 11-9, 6-11, 12-10, 11-2; Divij Singh (Del) bt Mishal Nathani (Mah) 11-5, 11-0, 11-9; Arjun Kochhar (Mah) bt Rohan Paranjpe (Mah) 11-6, 15-13, 11-1; Deepak Mishra (Del) bt Yohan Pandole (Mah) 11-4, 11-2, 11-3.

Boys U-13 (PQF): Mukul Yadav (Del) bt Aditya Khatri (Mah) 6-11, 11-7, 11-8, 6-11, 11-9.

Boys U-11 (3rd round): Abhay Singh (TN) bt Jaineel Parikh (Raj) 11-3, 11-6, 11-4; Senthil Kumar Velavan (TN) bt Dev Vazirani (Mah) 11-3, 12-10, 11-9; Kshitij Prasad (Mah) bt Shriya Ladiwala (Mah) 11-1, 11-0, 11-0; Zain Motiwala (Mah) bt Aman Agarwal (Mah) 11-2, 8-11, 11-5, 9-11, 11-5.

Boys U-19 (2nd round): Sami Johnson (Mah) bt Cyrus Sidhwa (Mah) 11-3, 11-6, 11-4; Karm Kumar bt Riyad Seervai (Mah) 11-8, 11-3, 11-3.

Girls U-19 (1st round): Shaheda Madraswala (Mah) bt Anushka Nair (Mah) 11-1, 11-3, 11-5; Khushy Aggarwal (Mah) bt Rhea Advani (Mah) 11-4, 11-7, 11-2.

Professionals (3rd round): Amjad Khan (Del) bt Devdas Tambe (Mah) 11-4, 11-3, 11-5; Rohit More (Mah) bt Prakash P Yelve (Mah) 11-9, 11-7, 11-5.

Under-9 (2nd round): Aryan Parekh (Mah) bt Shrishti Nagar (Mah) 11-5, 11-3, 11-1; Mohit Jhaveri (Mah) bt Rishabh (Mah) 10-12, 11-7, 11-4, 10-12, 11-2; Jash Chheda (Mah) bt Zahan Motiwala (Mah) 11-2, 11-9, 11-4.


Story first published: Wednesday, November 19, 2008, 19:36 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 19, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...