Paes, Bhuphati to compete for India in CWG 2010

Posted By: Abdul Nisar
paes and bhupathi
New Delhi, Aug 13: India announced it's four-member tennis team for the 2010 Commonwealth Games.

Multiple Grand Slam winners Leander Paes and Mahesh Bhupathi, Somdev Devvarman and Rohan Bopanna were the men's squad, which announced on Friday, Aug 13.

Paes and Bhupathi will compete in the men's doubles event and Somdev along with Rohan Bopanna will lead India's challenge in the singles.

The selection committee also nominated teen sensation Yuki Bhambri, Vishnu Vardhan and national champion V M Ranjeet as three reserve players for the Games.

Paes, Bhupathi, Somdev and Bopanna have also been nominated for the Davis Cup tie against Brazil in Sep 2010.

OneIndia News

Story first published: Friday, August 13, 2010, 19:13 [IST]
Other articles published on Aug 13, 2010
Please Wait while comments are loading...