Home » Tennis » News » Passi, Kannan knocked out in Vazirani state ranking tennis tourney

Passi, Kannan knocked out in Vazirani state ranking tennis tourney

Mumbai, Nov 21 (UNI) Boys under-12 third seed Nikhil Passi and No 4 Nikhil Kannan crashed out in dramatic fashion in the Vazirani Maharashtra State Ranking Junior Tennis Tournament at the Vazirani National Sports Academy, Nerul, Navi Mumbai today.

On a disastrous day for the seeds, unseeded Vivek Waghmare of Nanded rallied to a thrilling 10-9 (7-4) win over Passi to storm into the semi-finals in the closest match of the day.

Practennis lad Passi squandered match point at 8-5 and lost his way as Waghmare took charge and kept his hopes alive. An inspired Waghmare forced the match into the tie-break where he surged to a 5-2 lead. But Passi never gave up, as he closed in at 4-6 with crucial winners.

Passi's challenge, though, ended there as Waghmare, who meets top seed Aditya Vyas in the semi-finals, snatched a winner to seal a memorable victory over a formidable opponent.

''I was happy to be up 8-5 but things suddenly started going wrong from there. I struggled with my first serves and my shots were landing out, while Vivek was controlling the game to his advantage,'' explained a disappointed Passi.

Fifth seed Ajinkya Bachchan caused the other upset when he beat Nikhil Kannan 9-3 to set up a semi-final clash with second seed Ryan Serrao.

No 1 Aditya Vyas also endured a surprise challenge as he struggled to beat Garreth Pereira 9-6 in a close quarter-final tie.

Unseeded Asmita Garodia continued her winning streak when she orchestrated the third big upset of the day by knocking out fourth seed Kavita Mishra 9-4 to advance to the girls under-12 semi-finals.

Garodia next takes on Vazirani Academy lass and top seed Bharathi Bylapudi, while No 2 Snehadevi Reddy will face third seed Nandini Das in the other semi-final.

Results (All Quarter-Finals): Boys U-12: Aditya Vyas bt Garreth Pereira 9-6; Vivek Waghmare (Nanded) bt Nikhil Passi 10-9 (7-4); Ajinkya Bachchan bt Nikhil Kannan 9-3; Ryan Serrao bt Sahil Deshmukh 9-5.

Boys U-10: Karan Mehta bt Dhir Gala 9-2; Nikhil Passi bt Shubham Kale 6-0 (conceded); Sahil Deshmukh bt Rian Pandole 9-2; Nikhil Kannan bt Kunal Vazirani 9-4.

Boys U-8: Vatsin Thakkar bt Utkarsh Arvind 6-0; Urit Gupta bt Ruchir Chheda 7-6 (7-4); Dhruv Sunish bt Poojan Desai 6-1; Rahul Kolge bt Suyash Sharma 6-3.

Girls U-12: Bharathi Bylapudi bt Aashna Sharma 9-5; Asmita Garodia bt Kavita Mishra 9-4; Nandini Das bt Sasha Mishra 9-0; Snehadevi Reddy bt Prabhuti Singhania 9-0.

Girls U-10: Nandini Das bt Aboli Gogari 9-1; Sharlee Deshmukh bt Mihika Yadav 9-3; Prabhuti Singhania bt Heeta Kotak 9-1; Devanshi Bhimjiyani bt Dakshata Patel 9-0.

Girls U-8: Jagriti Sachan bt Dia Sanghi 6-0; Mihika Yadav bt Mehek Reniwal 6-0.


Story first published: Wednesday, November 21, 2007, 20:06 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 21, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...