Punjab Police retains Police Tennis Championship title

Dehradun, Nov 16 (UNI) Defending champions Punjab Police defeated Cental Reserve Police Force (CRPF) to retain the All India Police Lawn Tennis Championship title here today.

In the singles final of team event played between Punjab Police's S M Sharma and CRPF's Dr Kenjom, the former easily won the first set 6-1. Dr Kenjom however, put up a brave front taking the secong set. Seasoned player Sharma making use of his experience in the court prevailed over his younger rival 7-5 to give his team a 1-0 lead.

The double's pair of Punjab Police, S M Sharma and Ashish Kapoor had to make full use of their experience to win the match against a much younger CRPF duo of Dr Kenjom and R Dutta. The younger side registered a comfortable first set victory by 6-2. However experience prevailed in the second set as Sharma and Kapoor levelled the match with second set win by 6-4. In the second set, CRPF was trailing 4-1 when they sprung into action and levelled the set 4-4.

But Punjab Police's much older players were not giving way to their rivals, breaking their point and maintaining their own service, taking the set 6-4.

The third and final set was decided by Super Tie Breaker. Sharma and Kapoor faced no difficulties in thrashing the rivals 10-3 and leading their team to a 2-0 victory ultimately retaining the title.

Other finals Results: Open Singles: Ashish Kapoor(PP) beat Dr. Kenjom (CRPF) 8-2.

Open Doubles: CRPF and Punjab Police declared joint winner.

40 plus Single: Hernan S Khume (Mizoram Police) bt PS Dangwal(IRBP) 8-0.

40 plus Doubles: S Dutta/AV Chauhan (SPG) bt R Dutta/ M Minj (CRPF) 8-7,7-8,7-4 (Tie Break).

50 plus Singles: SM Sharma (PP) bt Madhusidan Rao (AP) 8-7,8-6.

50 plus Doubles:Arun Sharma/Madhusudan Rao (AP) bt Thukkandi/SK Upadhyaya (TN) 8-6.


Read more about: sportstennispolice
Story first published: Friday, November 16, 2007, 20:42 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 16, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...