Rohini School win two titles in CBSE NZ Tennis

Chandigarh, Oct 24 (UNI) CRPF Public School, Rohini (Delhi) claimed golden double by winning the boys under-19 as well girls under-14 team titles, respectively, in the CBSE North Zone I Tennis Championship 37 here today.

In the boys under-19 final, CRPF Public School, Rohini, outplayed Ryan International School, Vasant Kunj, also of Delhi 2-0. Executing his strokes with power, Rubal Shandelya defeated Sahil Chhabra in straight sets 6-2, 6-2 in the first singles match. The win was cemented by Adit Jain who prevailed over Shitij Kamal 6-3, 6-4.

CRPF Public School, Rohini, Delhi defeated Carmel Convent School, Sector 9, Chandigarh 2-0 in the girls under-14 team championship final. In the opening singles Anukriti Chauhdary rallied to snuff out the challenge of Sonali 1-6, 7-5, 7-5 to give Rohini School 1-0 lead. Medha Toor then defeated Vibhuti 6-0, 6-4 as CRPF Public School emerged champions.

New Delhi also claimed the boys under-14 team title after Hans Raj Model School, Punjabi Bag, New Delhi defeated St John's School, Sec-26, Chandigarh 2-1. Basil L Khuma outplayed Raghav Talwar 6-0, 7-5. The lead shortlived as Pranav Suri of St John's restored parity by beating Mayank Yadav 7-5, 6-2 in the second singles. However, Hans Rah duo of Basil and Mayank outpointed Dhruv and Pranav Suri 6-3, 6-4 in the doubles to clinch the title. Carmel Convent of Chandigarh emerged winners in the girls under-19 category after beating hosts St Peter's Secondary School, Sector 37 2-0.

Results (all finals): Boys Under-19: CRPF Public School, Rohini, Delhi bt Ryan International, Vasant Kunj, Delhi 2-0 (Rubal Shandelya bt Sahil Chhabra 6-2, 6-2, Adit Jain bt Shitij Kamal 6-3, 6-4).

Boys under-14: Hans Raj Model School, Punjabi Bag, New Delhi bt St John's School, Sec-26, Chandigarh 2-1 ((Basil L Khuma bt Raghav Talwar 6-0, 7-5, Mayank Yadav lost to Pranav Suri 5-7, 2-6, Basil and Mayank bt Dhruv and Pranav Suri 6-3, 6-4) Girls Under-19: Carmel Convent School, Chd bt St. Peter's Secondary School, Sec-37, Chd 2-0 (Ikttesh Chahal bt Avneet 6-0, 6-0, Deepti bt Shivika 6-4, 6-1).

Girls Under-14: CRPF Public School, Rohini, Delhi bt Carmel Convent School, Chandigarh 2-0 (Anukriti Chauhdary bt Sonali 1-6, 7-5, 7-5, Medha Toor bt Vibhuti 6-0, 6-4).


Story first published: Friday, October 24, 2008, 19:07 [IST]
Other articles published on Oct 24, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...