Home » Tennis » News » State girls make three semis in National School Tennis meet

State girls make three semis in National School Tennis meet

Mumbai, Dec 22 (UNI) The girls from the host team Maharashtra are having a rewarding outing in the Team Championship event of the Rs two lakh prize money, HDIL National School Games Tennis Tournament.

They made the semi-finals of three age groups at the tennis courts of the Hansraj Morarjee Public School, Andheri, here today.

Among the boys it was Delhi who were in the forefront, reaching the semi-finals in the boys under-17 and under-19 age groups.

Maharashtra made the semi-finals in the boys under-14 age group with a 2-0 victory over IPSC, while they lost in the quarter-finals of the under-17 age category to Andra Pradesh.

In the girls under-19 quarters, Maharashtra blanked Punjab 2-0 to set up a semi-final clash with Karnataka. Prachi Nadkarni and Radhika Jadhav scored identical 6-0, 6-1 victories over Sandip Kaur and Jaspreet Kaur respectively.

In the girls under-17 age group, Maharashtra got the better of Karnataka 2-0, Nupur Kaul struggling in the first set against Ravina before getting into her rhythm to win 7-5, 6-0. The second singles saw Riddhi Hegde also recovering from a sluggish start before getting the better of Rachna 7-6, 6-0.

In the boys under-17, Asian Junior champion Sai Teja of Andra Pradesh proved too strong for Maharashtra's Advait Sadvilkar wining 6-3, 6-2 after Pradip Reddy had outplayed Anuj Chajed 6-0,6-1.

Following are the Team Championship results (quarter finals): Boys u-19: Delhi bt Punjab 2-0 (Monal K bt Saurabh R 6-0, 6-2; Rubal K bt Arjun S 6-2, 6-2); Tamil Nadu bt IPSC 2-0 (Niyaz N Hamza R 6-3, 6-1; Sudarshan N bt Abhimanyu M 6-3, 6-1).

Boys u-17: Delhi bt IPSC 2-0 (Arjun Singh bt Utsav Sharma 6-0, 6-1; Sejal K bt Sumit A 6-2, 6-3); Andhra Pradesh bt Maharashtra 2-0 (Pradip Reddy bt Anuj Chajed 6-0, 6-1; Sai Teja bt Advait Sadvilkar 6-3, 6-2).

Boys u-14: Maharashtra bt IPSC 2-0 (Vishal Passi bt Samin J 6-1, 6-2; Parth Shah bt Harshal R 6-0, 6-1); Delhi bt KVS (Shashank bt Dev Faizal 6-3, 5-7, 7-6; Sunny Dahiya bt Kuldip 6-2, 6-2); Andra Pradesh bt Tamil Nadu (Shaikh Abdulla bt Niral 6-3, 6-1; Y. Sriman bt Venkat 6-3, 6-0).

Girls u-19: Maharashtra bt Punjab 2-0 (Prachi Nadkarni bt Sandip Kaur 6-0, 6-1; Radhika Jadhav bt Jaspreet Kaur 6-0, 6-1).

Girls u-17: Delhi bt Haryana 2-0 (Swetha bt Indu 6-1, 6-0; Waniya bt Bavana 6-0, 6-0); Maharashtra bt Karnataka 2-0 (Nupur Kaul bt Ravina 7-5, 6-0; Riddhi Hegde bt Rachna 7-6, 6-0); Andhra Pradesh bt Assam 2-0 (Soujanya bt Dhriti 6-2, 6-2; Spurthi bt Jyothi Smitha 6-1, 6-0); Gujarat bt Punjab 2-0 (Nova Patel bt Gundip Kaur 6-2, 6-1; Jeni Patel bt Sandip Kaur 6-1, 6-0).

Girls u-14: Maharashtra bt Haryana 2-0 (Gauri Baindoor bt Harshit 6-1, 6-0; Hariyali Chauhan bt Aastha 6-0, 6-1); Gujarat bt Karnataka.


Story first published: Saturday, December 22, 2007, 21:33 [IST]
Other articles published on Dec 22, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...