Home » Cricket » News »'Alastair Cook could be chasing Sachin Tendulkar's Test record'

'Alastair Cook could be chasing Sachin Tendulkar's Test record'

Posted By:

Chester-Le-Street, Durhman (England), May 31: Former England captain Sir Ian Botham feels current skipper Alastair Cook could be chasing Indian batting legend Sachin Tendulkar's all-time Test runs record in 5 years' time.

Match Scorecard

Yesterday (May 30), left-handed Cook became the youngest batsman in Test history to score 10,000 runs. On way to the milestone, he broke Tendulkar's record by 5 months.

File photo: Will Cook overtake Sachin?

When Tendulkar reached the landmark in 2005, he was 31 years, 10 months and 20 days old. Cook completed 10,000 Test runs at the age of 31 years, 5 months and 5 days.

The Indian great had reached the milestone in his 122nd Test. Cook achieved it in his 128th match.

He had started the 2nd innings needing 5 runs to reach there. He flicked a Nuwan Pradeep delivery to boundary to complete a special journey. Cook made his Test debut against India in Nagpur in March 2006. He had hit a century in the 2nd innings of the match.

Cook is also the first England batsman in the 12-man elite club. The opener scored 47 not out as England defeated Sri Lanka by 9 wickets on Monday to seal the 3-match series with an unassailable 2-0 lead.

Former all-rounder Botham said Cook could be chasing Tendulkar's all-time Test runs record of 15,921.

"I think he's got a lot more runs to come yet, this is just a milestone for him. He's 31, he's got lots of time to go. In five years, he could be chasing Sachin. Who knows?

"He is fit enough, strong enough, and we know how mentally tough he is. He could play for five or six more years easily. It's down to him. It's how long he wants to play for," Botham told "Sky Sports".

Cook is the 12th batsman in Test history to score 10,000 runs. Tendulkar, Ricky Ponting, Jacques Kallis, Rahul Dravid, Kumar Sangakkara, Brian Lara, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Mahela Jayawardene, Allan Border, Steve Waugh and Sunil Gavaskar are the others.

OneIndia News

Story first published: Tuesday, May 31, 2016, 11:19 [IST]
Other articles published on May 31, 2016
Please Wait while comments are loading...