Home » Cricket » News »Team India for remaining 3 Tests announced; Bhuvneshwar Kumar in Gautam Gambhir out

Team India for remaining 3 Tests announced; Bhuvneshwar Kumar in Gautam Gambhir out

Posted By:

New Delhi, Nov 22: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Tuesday (November 22) announced the India squad for the remaining three Test matches against England.

India-England series schedule; Photos

Just one change has been made by the BCCI for the side. Veteran opener Gautam Gambhir has been replaced by pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar for the remainder of the series, rest of the side is unchanged.

Team India for remaining 3 Tests announced, Bhuvneshwar Kumar replaces Gautam Gambhir

Gambhir failed to perform in the first Test match at Rajkot and his ouster from the squad was evident with the fact when he was asked to play for Delhi in the Ranji Trophy.

Also, opener KL Rahul's return into the side, had virtually put curtains to the southpaw's place in the squad as skipper Virat Kohli was in favour of regular opener Rahul. He has been only the second best batsman for India after Virat Kohli in 2016.

However, the 24-year-old Karnataka opener too failed to perfom in the second Test against England at Visakhapatnam.

Gambhir made a comeback into the national side after a gap of two years, as a replacement to Rahul. But he failed perform in the opening Test against England.

The southpaw scored 29 in the first innings while departed in the 2nd innings without even opening his account in the first Test at Rajkot.

Gambhir's dismissal in the both the innings at Rajkot was critically analysed and questions were raised on the 34-year-old batsman's technique.

Bhuvneshwar, who is making a comeback from an injury, has been inducted into the 16-member squad.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

India-England will now lock horns from November 26 at Mohali for the third Test match. Mohali pitches are known to be favouring seamers and Bhuvneshwar Kumar's induction seems to be a good move.


Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Karun Nair, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Amit Mishra, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya.

OneIndia News

Story first published: Tuesday, November 22, 2016, 17:56 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 22, 2016
Please Wait while comments are loading...