Here is India's final 15-man squad for ICC World Cup 2015

Posted By:

Mumbai, Jan 6: The wait is over. India's final 15-man squad for ICC World Cup 2015 was today revealed by the BCCI selection committee headed by Sandeep Patil. As expected Yuvraj Singh was not included.

The Schedule; No 'kar' for the first time

Only 4 players - MS Dhoni (captain), Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina and R Ashwin, from the 2011 World Cup winning squad have got a chance again, four years later. (Your guide to Team India)

Picture combination: India's 15-man squad

India, the defending champions, will launch campaign against Pakistan in Adelaide on February 15. This year's World Cup will be played from February 14 to March 29 in Australia and New Zealand. Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) will host the final.

OneIndia/ThatsCricket's selection of World Cup team yesterday got 14 names right. Only player to miss from our pick was Murali Vijay, replaced by Stuart Binny. Former India captain Rahul Dravid got all 15 right in his squad earlier today.

Despite fitness issues with all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja and fast bowler Ishant Sharma, the selectors chose to go with the duo for the big event.

For the ODI tri-series involving Australia and England before the World Cup, Mohit Sharma and Dhawal Kulkarni are the additions, making it a 17-man squad.

Here is India's 15-man squad for World Cup 2015

Batsmen (6)

1. Virat Kohli (Delhi/Royal Challengers Bangalore) - Vice-captain

2. Shikhar Dhawan (Delhi/Sunrisers Hyderabad)

3. Rohit Sharma (Mumbai/Mumbai Indians)

4. Ajinkya Rahane (Mumbai/Rajasthan Royals)

5. Suresh Raina (Uttar Pradesh/CSK)

6. Ambati Rayudu (Baroda/MI)

Wicketkeeper (1)

7. MS Dhoni (Jharkhand/Chennai Super Kings) - Captain

All-rounders (3)

8. Ravindra Jadeja (Saurashtra/CSK)

9. Axar Patel (Gujarat/Kings XI Punjab)

10. Stuart Binny (Karnataka/RR)

Fast bowlers (4)

11. Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Uttar Pradesh/Sunrisers)

12. Mohammed Shami (Bengal/Delhi Daredevils)

13. Ishant Sharma (Delhi/Sunrisers)

14. Umesh Yadav (Vidarbha/Kolkata Knight Riders)

Spinner (1)

15. R Ashwin (Tamil Nadu/CSK)

Note: Only 4 (Dhoni, Kohli, Raina and Ashwin) from the current lot were part of the World Cup winning squad in 2011.

India's World Cup schedule (Pool B) (All Day/Night matches)

15 February (Sunday) - Vs Pakistan (Adelaide) 9 AM IST

22 February (Sunday) - Vs South Africa (Melbourne) 9 AM IST

28 February (Saturday) - Vs United Arab Emirates (Perth) 12 PM IST

6 March (Friday) - Vs West Indies (Perth) 12 PM IST

10 March (Tuesday) - Vs Ireland (Hamilton) 6.30 AM IST

14 March (Saturday) - Vs Zimbabwe (Auckland) 6.30 AM IST

India's 15 players who won the World Cup in 2011

MS Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Yusuf Pathan, Gautam Gambhir, Zaheer Khan, Harbhajan Singh, S Sreesanth, Ashish Nehra, R Ashwin, Piyush Chawla, Munaf Patel.

OneIndia News

Story first published: Tuesday, January 6, 2015, 15:09 [IST]
Other articles published on Jan 6, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...