India A squads: Dhawan and Raina picked; Dhoni, Kohli not included

Posted By:

Mumbai, Sep 9: Left-handed opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan will captain India A in a 3-day game against Bangladesh A while Suresh Raina is part of the One-Day team to face the visitors.

BCCI's selection committee announced the squads today. There were reports that MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli might play but it is now confirmed that the duo won't be turning up for the squads coached by former India captain Rahul Dravid.

Shikhar Dhawan

Dhawan, who had injured his hand against Sri Lanka in the 1st Test last month and was ruled out of the remainder of the 3-match series, will play his first competitive game since then. He can prove his fitness ahead of the next month's series against South Africa at home.

Raina, who was not part of the Test squad that won in Sri Lanka, will be back on the field after a long time. He trained in Netherlands with the Dutch team in August. The left-hander last played for India against Bangladesh in a ODI series in June.

Right-handed opening batsman Unmukt Chand will lead the One-Day side which also includes paceman Dhawal Kulkarni, Manish Pandey, Sanju Samson, Karun Nair and other promising youngsters.

All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, who was dropped from the national team during the Bangladesh ODIs, features in the squad for 3-day contest.

India A and Bangladesh A will play 3 One-Dayers and 1 three-day match. Also, Bangladesh A will face Ranji Trophy champions Karnataka in a three-day game.

The limited overs series will be hosted by Bengaluru from September 16 to 20 while the 3-day games will be played in Mysuru (September 22 to 24) and Bengaluru (September 27 to 29).

India A Squad for One-Dayers

Unmukt Chand (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Manish Pandey, Suresh Raina, Kedar Jadhav, Sanju Samson, Karun Nair, Kuldeep Yadav, Jayant Yadav, Karn Sharma, Rishi Dhawan, S Aravind, Dhawal Kulkarni, Rush Kalaria, Gurkeerat Singh Mann.

India A Squad for 3-day game

Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Abhinav Mukund, Karun Nair, Shreyas Iyer, Baba Aparajith, Naman Ojha, Jayant Yadav, Vijay Shankar, Ravindra Jadeja, Shreyas Gopal, Abhimanyu Mithun, Varun Aaron, Ishwar Pandey, Sheldon Jackson.

Suresh Raina

Bangladesh A Squad

Mominul Hoque (captain), Nasir Hossain (vice-captain), Anamul Hoque Bijoy, Rony Talukdar, Liton Kumar Das, Shabbir Rahaman, Soumya Sarker, Saqlain Sajib, Arafat Sunny, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Al-Amin Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Shuvagata Hom Chowdhury, Jubair Hossain.

Bangladesh A tour of India schedule

One-Dayers in Bengaluru

1st match: September 16 (Wednesday)

2nd match: September 18 (Friday)

3rd match: September 20 (Sunday)

Three-day matches

September 22 (Tuesday) to 24 (Thursday): Karnataka Vs Bangladesh A in Mysuru

September 27 (Sunday) to 29 (Tuesday): India A Vs Bangladesh A in Bengaluru

OneIndia News

Story first published: Wednesday, September 9, 2015, 12:06 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 9, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...