IPL 2015 Match 33: RCB and KKR blockbuster delayed by rain gods

Posted By:

Bengaluru, May 2: In yet another spoiler for the fans, match between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kolkata Knight Riders has been interrupted by rain here on Saturday. Covers have been put up and everyone in waiting for the rain to stop so the match begins.

Earlier in the day, RCB skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and decided to field against KKR in the super encounter at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium. Previous match between RCB and Rajasthan Royals played here was abandoned due to rain.

IPL Special; Points Table; Photos

Rain delays play between RCB and KKR

Both the teams are going unchanged in today's game.

Pumped up after a thrilling win over the smooth-sailing Chennai Super Kings, defending champions Kolkata Knight Riders are taking on the resurgent RCB.

With Thursday night's win, KKR moved up a rung to the third position on the points table with four wins, two losses and one abandoned match. RCB, on the other hand, have won three and lost as many in seven games and are on fourth position.

For KKR, the last-over win against CSK came as a massive shot in the arm as they prepare to take on a rejuvenated RCB, who posted 200 runs despite the failures of Kohli and West Indian swashbuckler Chris Gayle, against Rajasthan Royals.

Captain Gautam Gambhir lauded the power-packed innings of Robin Uthappa and Andre Russell, which helped KKR come back on track. Uthappa cracked a match winning unbeaten 80 and stitched a superb partnership for the fourth wicket along with Russell, who scored a brilliant unbeaten 55 in no time.

For RCB, it has been a mixed bag so far, recording three wins and as many loses. But after a sedate start, RCB returned to form with two consecutive away wins against Rajasthan in Ahmedabad and Delhi Daredevils at the Feroz Shah Kotla.


KKR: Robin Uthappa, Gautam Gambhir (Captain), Manish Pandey, Suryakumar Yadav, Andre Russell, Ryan ten Doeschate, Yusuf Pathan, Pat Cummins, Piyush Chawla, Brad Hogg, Umesh Yadav.

RCB: Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli (Captain), AB de Villiers, Mandeep Singh, Dinesh Karthik, Sarfaraz Khan, David Wiese, Harshal Patel, Mitchell Starc, Varun Aaron, Yuzvendra Chahal.

OneIndia News

Story first published: Saturday, May 2, 2015, 16:30 [IST]
Other articles published on May 2, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...