Home » Cricket » News »IPL 2016: Gujarat Lions' Dwayne Bravo sets world record

IPL 2016: Gujarat Lions' Dwayne Bravo sets world record

Posted By:

Mohali, April 12: West Indies' all-rounder Dwayne Bravo set a world record last night (April 11) during an Indian Premier League 2016 (IPL 9) match here.

IPL Special Site; Points Table; Schedule; Photos

The 32-year-old Bravo, playing for Gujarat Lions, against Kings XI Punjab at PCA Stadium on Monday night, became the first bowler in Twenty20 cricket history to take 300 wickets. As seen in recent time, Bravo celebrated with his "Champion Dance".

File photo: Dwayne Bravo's style of celebration after taking a wicket during the World T20 2016

The West Indian was the bowling hero for Gujarat in their 5-wicket victory. This was Suresh Raina-led Gujarat's debut match in IPL after joining the league this year.

Bravo took 4 wickets for 22 runs in his 4-over spell. His victims were Glenn Maxwell, David Miller, Wriddhiman Saha and Marcus Stoinis.

When Bravo got Punjab captain Miller bowled by a slower ball, he reached the 300-wicket milestone. He went past Sri Lankan paceman Lasith Malinga (299 wickets).

Bravo's T20 wickets have come while playing for various teams including his international side West Indies. In IPL, he has represented Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings and now Gujarat.

In the Australian Big Bash League (BBL), he has turned up for Melbourne Renegades and Sydney Sixers.

In the Caribbean T20s, he has played for Trinidad and Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel. In Pakistan Super League (PSL), he was with Lahore Qalandars.

The right-hander has also featured in England's T20 tournaments for Essex and Kent besides plying his trade for Chittagong Kings (Bangladesh Premier League) and Dolphins (South Africa).

Bravo was part of the West Indies team that won the ICC World Twenty20 title in India recently. They beat England in the final on April 3.

Most wickets in Twenty20 cricket

302 (292 matches) - Dwayne Bravo (West Indies)

299 (221) - Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)

277 (217) - Yasir Arafat (Pakistan)

263 (225) - Alfonso Thomas (South Africa)

257 (215) - Dirk Nannes (Australia, Netherlands)

OneIndia News

Story first published: Tuesday, April 12, 2016, 12:37 [IST]
Other articles published on Apr 12, 2016
Please Wait while comments are loading...